Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So now that summer seems to finally be here, im running into the same engine heat problems i had last year. I have a 160 degree thermostat that i know works because when its cool outside at night or early morning the car runs very cool (just above the "L" on normal). When the sun comes up and the temp is around 75 the car will get much hotter. The temp of the engine will raise slowly but surly up to and past mid range. the car will turn on the low speed fan and the temp will keep raising untill the high speed fan turns on and then the car will start to cool. With these seemingly great temp fluctuations im concerned that i could warp the heads and create a leak. I plan to buy a new radiator and i think im gonna change the water pump. Im curious, has anybody found a water pump that moves more water than typical? I was also thinking about trying to install a smaller pulley on the water pump to drive it faster at normal engine RPMs. Has anybody done this? BTW GEN2 3.8

·
Premium Member
838 Posts