Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi u i whant to ask if changing a taurus 2000 computer to a 2001-2002-2003-2004 will make diffrens in the car .. bucaus i asked a ford guy and he saide that it will make the car beeter ..??....do any have any exp. in that thing??????????
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,022 Posts
if you want updated software, go to the dealership and have them update your ECU. they will flash the new software, and put a sticker on your ECU to let future techs know that it has been done. Since the data inputs from the various sensors can change from year to year, just switching out a computer with a different one is not very advisable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Originally posted by silvapain@Feb 27 2004, 08:21 PM
if you want updated software, go to the dealership and have them update your ECU. they will flash the new software, and put a sticker on your ECU to let future techs know that it has been done. Since the data inputs from the various sensors can change from year to year, just switching out a computer with a different one is not very advisable.
thanks for ur concern man ...the thing is that the dealership don't have that cabability to do like what u saided.....
... ya ya ya go go...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
437 Posts
You can't just change computers unless the hardware is the same. In some years, they changed stuff around, like clock speeds and teh way the EEC coes teh MAF function, etc. 2001 was a big year. in 2002 they made a whole bunch of other changes.

Flashing to an updated file won't really do much unless you had one of those that had issues from the factory that dealers were told to reflash. If you want to make it perform better, get a chip or have me reflash it.

Now in some cases the hardware does not matter. For example, for the 3.0L 2v Taurus, the 96 and 97 EEC's have different hardware and soem of the tables are different, but are nonetheless interchangeable.

The ONLY benefit would be when you go say from an 03 3.8L V6 Mustang computer to an 04 with the same hardware but the 04 having a 27mhz clock speed instead of 24mhz. This would allow for faster fuel and spark calculations, etc. Of course it would depend on the model of the car and some changes may need to be made on my end to make it work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Originally posted by americanmotorsport.com@Feb 29 2004, 05:29 PM
You can't just change computers unless the hardware is the same. In some years, they changed stuff around, like clock speeds and teh way the EEC coes teh MAF function, etc. 2001 was a big year. in 2002 they made a whole bunch of other changes.

Flashing to an updated file won't really do much unless you had one of those that had issues from the factory that dealers were told to reflash. If you want to make it perform better, get a chip or have me reflash it.

Now in some cases the hardware does not matter. For example, for the 3.0L 2v Taurus, the 96 and 97 EEC's have different hardware and soem of the tables are different, but are nonetheless interchangeable.

The ONLY benefit would be when you go say from an 03 3.8L V6 Mustang computer to an 04 with the same hardware but the 04 having a 27mhz clock speed instead of 24mhz. This would allow for faster fuel and spark calculations, etc. Of course it would depend on the model of the car and some changes may need to be made on my end to make it work.
so how can i get to u when i am far awy....i am from saudi arabia..... help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
What is your EEC code? ....can u tell me how to do that ....dy the way i always come to hte site at this time.. so be patient with me ...and u where a very helpfol person... :keepsmiling:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,022 Posts
find your ECU. It is in the engine compartment, in the firewall. stand on the passenger's side, next to your front tire. look for a metal braided wire the goes from your engine to the firewall. next to where that wire connects to the firewall, there is a black socket thing with a massive amount of wires coming out one side. there should be a bolt that goes through the socket, and one on either side of the socket. take out the two side bolts, and slide the ECU out. The code is a series of three letters and one number ( at least, that's what it was on my car) on the top of the ECU.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top