Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a relative newbie, I have a few basic questions about the cold air intake on a 1994 GL with a 3.8 engine:

• How much airflow/suction should there be, starting at the air intake in the fender? I don't have any equipment to measure the airflow, so I unbolted the intake tube's mounting bolt from the fender, started up the engine, and stuck my hand between the fender and the intake tube. I felt some airflow/suction, but not much. Is this normal?

• Does the engine itself pull air through the intake tube faster while traveling, than it does during idle? If so, I know it wouldn't be due to air being pushed into the intake tube faster, since its inlet is isolated in a location where the air won't move significantly faster with the faster speed of the car.

I also read the granddaddy of CAI mod threads here (http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/87-engine-drivetrain/84260-cold-air-intake-pictures.html), which almost had me wanting to do such a mod, but not after I read the whole thread through, since I'm not looking for extra noise or a marginal increase in throttle, etc., especially since some people find it decreases HP, etc.