1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a college student and just picked up a job as a construction flagger which
will require a lot of driving. My car normally would get 28-32 mpg highway and
20-25 mpg city. Just recently, I filled it up and found I got 14 mpg. It was
mostly city driving but that is still a significant decrease.

Basics of the car:

Bought used with 101k in June of 2010. I've used it mainly to commute to and
from college(Michigan Tech) so I've put about 15k on it since I've owned it.

Recently I had some trouble with the RPM's fluttering a bit and the check engine
code came up with a bad cam sensor. I had a family friend replace it and clear
the code but it popped right back up. Next week, I took it to a mechanic and had
him check it out and fix it and the same code popped up 3 days later so I just
forgot about it.

I've noticed that when I go to take off from a dead stop, sometimes it seems
like the engine "hesitates" a bit then catches up. It has done this since I have
owned it. Other than this, I cannot think of any other noteable mechanical
quirks.

I decided to take it to Autozone tonight and have them run my check engine light
again to see if anything pops up. I recieved these codes with probable causes:

1. P0401 EGR system fault (exhaust gas recirculation)

The ECM has detected too little flow on the EGR system

Probable Cause:
Blocked passage on EGR system
Failed EGR valve
EGR solenoid faulty
Failed EGR pressure sensor where applicable

2. P1309 Misfire monitor disabled

ECM disabled the misfire monitor

Probable Cause:
Verify the cam sensor is sychronized
ECM failure
Verify input sensor parameters are correct

From talking to two former mechanics that I know well, the only thing I have
gotten is that my catalytic converter might be clogged.

I'm trying to pinpoint the problem so I don't have to pay for a mechanic to run
pointless tests to tell me something someone else might know off the top of