Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i have regular 5w30 or what ever it is, and i wanna put durablend in there. do i have to flush the oil thingy (notice im not good with this stuff) or and i just replace in with the oil change with no probs?

·
Premium Member
821 Posts
Since durablend is a semi- synthetic i don't believe you will have to flush the engine before changing to it. If it were a full synthetic it is highly recommend to flush it before changing to it.

Depending on how many miles you have it might not hurt to flush it anyways.

·
Premium Member
2,415 Posts
You NEVER have to flush an engine before switching to synthetic. Synthetic oils clean better than conventional oils anyway, so within a few (synthetic) oil changes you will have cleaned out a good amount of the sludge, anyway.

I've heard that those motor flushes are actually bad for your engine because they wash ALL the lubrication off all the moving parts causing a dry start that sometimes causes your motor to seize.

·
Premium Member
821 Posts
Originally posted by mikehawk@Jun 24 2004, 10:09 PM
You NEVER have to flush an engine before switching to synthetic. Synthetic oils clean better than conventional oils anyway, so within a few (synthetic) oil changes you will have cleaned out a good amount of the sludge, anyway.

I've heard that those motor flushes are actually bad for your engine because they wash ALL the lubrication off all the moving parts causing a dry start that sometimes causes your motor to seize.