Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I need to change my DRL module on my 1999 SE Vulcan, and can't seem to find where it goes, the manual I have doesn't help at all. I'm a bit of novice and have done some repairs on my own, like plugs, wires, alternator, etc. but can't seem to figure this stupid thing out.

P.S. The first post I did on here someone posted a tip on how to disconnect my A/C because it had crapped out.......Well.......i took your advise and it worked!! Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
695 Posts
On my '97 SHO, it was located almost directly under the battery tray. You have to take off the splash shield and go at it from underneath.

·
Registered
135 Posts
if you don't really want the DRL you can just disconnect
the 15 amp fuse and they go off. usually when they go bad
they kinda' blink or pulsate. it's easier to just pull the fuse.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Actually, they don't work at all, and to be honest I think the DRL module is like $150 Cdn, so I'm not even sure if its worth it. One of the reasons I wanted to change it is cause I think it's causing my regular lights to dim while driving. If I find it easy enough to change though I'll probably still do it.

·
Registered
71 Posts
DRL module is well over 100.00 Cdn. I checked and ya, its not worth it. Try just disconnecting it (or pulling the fuse as suggested) and see if your dimming problem goes away. It is located in the front left ww area like 1fast97 says. Good luck.

·
Registered
135 Posts
my DRL lites were blinking and pulsating and also the regular lites
were dimming, so after i pulled the fuse, the lites work just fine
now. that fuse is under the hood in the black plastic fuse box
about in the middle-15amp.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'm going to the dealership right now to get a drl module. They told me $115 CDN.