Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm no Taurus newbie, however I am in need of your expertise. I used to own a 90 Sable with the Vulcan. Some of you might remember me as My Car Has Peeling Paint.

Anyhow, I test drove a 96 Taurus with the Duratec for my girlfriend. The car has about 67k on the clock. When I shifted from park into reverse, it went into gear hard, and the same going into drive. Also, as I was slowing down, it has a hard 2-1 shift. Is this common or is the tranny on its way out?

·
Registered
76 Posts
Did you look at the fluid while the car is running at operating tempature. Define hard in drive, and reverse mine kinda does a lil hard but atleast you know its engageing. How does it shift from 1st to 2nd , and or into overdrive it just may need to be flushed . See if you can get some service records on it see if the trans has ever been flushed, if not might not be such a good buy cause the trans could be going. In these cars its very important to change the trans fluid , even if you drop the pan, and change the filter, and fluid in pan, and clean the pan and magnet .. If the trans is bad in that situation youll find chunks and pieces in the pan normal will have wear and tear lil metal fillings and band wear .. does the car look like its been taken care of very well i have a 99 and ive put some workinto it after bying it i wished i would ponied up aanother grand and bought the 04 i was looking at .. either way look up records check fluid level if its a only one you can afford, otherwise buy a newer vulcan get better gas mileage easier to work on in my opinion . but make sure if you get newer taurus get 04 to 06 vulcan they have the ax4n trans which is better .

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·