Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I have been using this forum for great info ever since I bought a used 2001 taurus with the vulcan engine. Now, however, I have a misfire that I can not figure out.

Wife was driving the car and told me she thought the alternator was going out because it started acting very sluggish etc. There was no check engine light at this time. I checked out the whole charging system and that wasn't it. I checked the plugs and they were fine.

I took the car to a local shop and he diagnosed it as a bad ignition coil pack, and told me I had a bad cell in my battery. I replaced the battery and picked the coil pack up from autozone and installed which made no difference. I took the car back to autozone to see if they could read the codes for me even though there was no check eng light. They found a misfire on cylinder 3. I checked all plug wires and I found a gash in cylinder 3 plug wire so I replaced them all. That didn't fix the problem either. While I was driving down the road the Check eng light came on flashing. Had the codes read again at autozone and they said I had a misfire on cylinder 1,2,3, and the bank was too lean. (I checked 2 times to make sure I didn't mix up the plug wires). I took the car to NTB for a diagnoses which was bad MAF sensor and bad TPS ($725 quote to replace! holy crap!). Tried cleaning MAF which did nothing so I replaced both the MAF and TPS. That didn't fix it either. I haven't found any hiss for a vacuum leak, so what in the heck could it be? Burned valve?

Any wisdom you can bestow on me would be greatly appreciated! With all the time I have spent staring blankly at the car or replacing parts to help autozone's stock price, the mosquitos in my neighborhood are getting well fed!:lol2:

·
Registered
10,929 Posts
Misfire

Hi everyone,