Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hi there, just signed up to the website, i have a 2002 ford taurus, 3.0l vulcan, with 143k kms and i have been having problems with stuttering and sometimes stalling out when i go from reverse to drive. I just recently change the spark plugs and wires, not the coils. I am still getting the stuttering at idle, to the point of the car vibrating at times. My engine light is on too.

I was getting a little concerned about the problem and talk to a guy that has a computer tester, the tester sent back codes for a camshaft sensor and crankshaft sensor. What my question is, should i change both or is it more common for just one of those to go in the car? also if anyone knows where these sensors are i would love to know?

I am not really experienced with autos so more detail the better for me, i am really thankful for anyone who can help with this matter. Many thanks in advance.
:D

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Please post the codes, it is more common for the "Cam synchronizer" to fail than the crank position sensor. It is actualy one of the problems that plauge the taurus, that and overheating problems due to the cooling system design / lack of preventative maintenance.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
dont have the codes handy cause the tester in with a buddy at the moment, but i called him and he said the codes 100% came back as camshaft sensor, so i will just replace that for now and see if it fixes the problem, it only costs 32$ for the part, sry i dont have the info on the codes though.

just wondering if u or anyone knows where i can find the cam sensor in this vehicle. Just a mess with gunk and stuff under the hood, hard to see anything.

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Here are the instructions to replace the Cam sychronizer, be careful because if you install it wrong the car will misfire, buck or not start at all.

·
Registered