Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Taurus 2013 sel
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm a new member here, I wanted to take it from those who actually own one or have a knowledge of the car.

I've Taurus 2013 SEL, I bought it recently it has 60k KM and it's in great shape.

Once I got it, I had to change the rear brake pads due to registration processes. The change involved chaning the rear rubber washer (which I don't know the real name of, but it's a rubber washer located inside a cylinder in the rear brake) and a bleeding was properly done. Right after this job, I started to experience soft pedal and the pedal was sinking to the ground. After further inspection, the master cylinder required a complete rebuild (cleaning and tightining the washers inside).

After that (having the fact that I'm new to the car) I noticed that the first push on the pedal the distance it travels is almost 2 cm till the car starts to slow down and once I push more it takes a somehow firm brake then push more I experience ABS (in case care is moving fast). The second instant push is firm and doesn't require any travel distance.

Now I wanted to check with all of you the standard travel distance in your Taurus is the same of not. Below is a illustration of what I'm experiencing

[ = this is the brake pedal
| = this is the "floor"
. = travel distance indicators

illustrated distance
[......|

...[....| --> 1st push starts to slow down the car gradually.

.[......| --> 2nd instant push, starts to firmly slow down the car - without engaging the ABS

p/s the travel space in 1st push is alwasy consistent.

·
Registered
130 Posts