Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just did a flip through eBay and searched Ford Taurus and Mercury Sable under the cars and trucks catagory and I didn't see one that was above or at 200k miles. Is it just that most aren't that far yet or that they're not built for that kind of mileage?

I've been driving Diesel Mercedes Benzes for the past 5 years (drove Tauruses before that) and they last and last and last (350k is usually still a good running good shifting car). They're great cars. I thought the Taurus was nice when I had them (2 of them).

But do these make it past 200k before rebuild time? Are these worth rebuilding? The reason I ask is I am looking for a Taurus wagon and don't have much to spend (on a major expensive business venture right now). So it's going to end up being a high mileage one unless I'm lucky.

I'm pretty mechanical but I also don't have a chery picker (yet) so I don't plan on tearing down an engine. Just curious if I should go with a Taurus with high miles or pass and stick with the Diesels.

thanks!
Nick

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
The older Mercedes diesels last 500k+ miles, they're safe and have pretty bullet proof engines and transmissions. The Taurus can last 300k+ as well, but they're not as strong as diesels. Both Vulcan and Duratec engines can last past 300k if well maintained and not abused during their life, I had a '93 Taurus that made it well past 200k, and the next owner kept it til around 300k-it was still running well when they sold it. There are members on here that have 300k+ on their Taurus, without needing rebuilds. The transmissions are not as strong, though, but some do last past 200k.

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
I'm paraphrasing a post I read here: 'If you get an older Taurus, budget for a transmission rebuild and you won't be dissapointed.'

·
Premium Member
1,439 Posts