Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So monday night my car was sitting outside my shop and I didn't bring it inside due to the fact that I was in the ER about to die from a kidney stone.

Got an estimate on it today Little over 2800 including where a limb hit the fender.

It really doesn't look bad and but I digress.

Absolute best I can hope for is around 3200 based on NADA.

They will probably use a .75 multiplier so I am screwed.

I will definately buy the car back if they total it and I have never done that before.

So that is my question. How much money do they usually want to buy it back?

Mike
:dunno:

·
Premium Member
1,958 Posts
Not much. Last person I know who bought a car back paid like 500 bucks. Fred Hurder did this with his white 95 S/C SHO back in the day. I forget how much he paid to get it back but it was minimal at best IIRC.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Back years ago I had my 20,000 mile 88 Mustang GT engine catch on fire. AAA wrote me a check for $14,000 and I paid $500.00 to buy it back. After $500.00 in parts and a bunch of sweat it was like new again. Drove it for another year and then sold it for $10,000.00! One thing to remember, your state might change the title to a salvage title. My Mustang was changed to a salvage title but I had taken pics of the car during the rebuild process so the guy that purchased it had no problem with the salvage title.

·
Premium Member
599 Posts