Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My girlfriend (she was driving) and I were driving down highway 1, doing about 72ish in a 55mph zone, I saw a cop, but it was too late, he turned around and had his lights a-flashin. He strolls up to the car and pulls the whole "I'm a cop, therefore I'm a hardass" routine, asking her why she was in such a hurry, and If her mama would want her pretty little self getting her car messed up, and stupid s*** like that. Anyway, he writes her a $99.50 ticket, and we drove off.

But upon close inspection, the dude got the date completely wrong. I'm not saying he made a funny looking 3 or somthing like that. He actually spelled out the words FEBRUARY 5th, as the date the offense was written up, when it was actually March 5th. Now, since she was NOT *caught* speeding on February 5th, and it is a false statement that she was, wouldnt that make the document void? I just need your guy's advice, because she's really sad about it, she's 16, and it was her first offense, she's on the good grades = low insurance plan, and she's only had her liscnece for like 6 months, and the guy still wrote her a ticket. I've got caught doing much more than that on several occasions, and all I get is warnings.

Anyway, your help would be appreciated. Thanks guys, ya'll rock!

P.S. I'm 17, so I just didnt want you people thinking I was some weirdo 40 year old with a 16 year old girlfriend.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I just spoke with my brother who is a police chief in Ohio. He informed me that because the date of the ticket is wrong, the ticket should be voided. You basically just got her off the hook on a technicality. Lucky you!

J

·
0 Posts
Yep, my lawyer told me the same thing last time he took care of a ticket for me.