Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am new to the scene, as I just got my sable. To be more specific, I have the '99 Mercury Sable LS. Despite adding PIAA bulbs and cleaning the exterior of the headlamps, I don't get much light. I am looking to add fog lights. I want to put them in the space in the bumper under the headlights. (I think that's a good spot).

I am a complete novice when it comes to wiring and whatnot. I have looked through these forums at a good few fog light topics, and no one really explains how to go about this in a specific manner. I pretty much want the fog lights to come on whenever the headlights are on (either autolamps or manual). Do I add the fog light wires to some sort of relay and then splice with the headlight switch?

I also have looked at some fog lights, and by looking through posts, I have come to a conclusion that the Hella Micro DE lights are pretty good for the job. If you have any other suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. (these are pretty expensive).

Thanks for any input!

Sam

·
Premium Member
455 Posts
lights dim?

hello, you say you dont get much light?
do you mean compared to other cars or less than you used to get?.
before you spring for the big price you might check the voltage at our bulbs and check ground resistance

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I don't get much light compared to other cars. I had previously changed the bulbs to PIAAs and it made it slightly better than what was in there before, but it really doesn't get the full light I'm looking for.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·