Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fellow bull owners,

I've been logging all maintenance (and its cost) for my Taurus for a few years, and it's getting to the age where I'm trying to calculate when I should get another car. Given the past maintenance and its age and mileage, how much would you estimate my maintenance costs to be for the next year, at a shop (not DIY)?

I've gone ahead and forecasted maintenance that I'm pretty sure will need done. Do you see anything missing, especially high cost items that I should anticipate?

Some facts and summaries:

2005 Ford Taurus SE, Vulcan v6 Flex
183k miles (I only drive 3k miles/yr currently)

Avg monthly ownership cost past two years: $75

Total unplanned repairs last two years (new starter, alignment, lower ball joints, bad wheel cylinders): $700 - included in above monthly cost

Maintenance done in the last 20k miles (ignoring oil changes and tires): brake and radiatior fluid changed, air filters, fuel filter, front brake pads changed and rotors resurfaced, coilpack and spark plugs+wires, lower ball joints, starter motor, FE alignment, bank 2 o2 sensor 1 changed, transmission flush, new rear wheel cylinders and drum brakes. Transmission was rebuilt at around 150k miles.

Future needs this year: replace serpentine belt or idler/tensioner pulleys (taking it to the shop tomorrow to find out which - it squeaks constantly in tune with revs), diagnose and fix groaning PS pump when steering the wheel side to side. I'm provisioning $500 for this in the yearly forecast without more info.