Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay. I'm a newbie to the world of online car forums, and was wondering if someone could clear up the lingo for me. What is WOT? I think it has something to do with high RPM's, but not sure.

Also, I see that everybody has Gen I,II,III,IV...how do I tell what my car is? I have a 97 Ford Taurus LX, 3.0 24v DOHC Duratec V6. It's a sedan.

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
549 Posts
Welcome to the club.

WOT = wide open throttle (so you were basically right)

Gen I : 1986 - 1991
Gen II: 1992 - 1995
Gen III: 1996 - 1999
Gen IV: 2000 +

·
Premium Member
15,578 Posts
Welcome to the board.

WOT means Wide Open Throttle. Basically, it's the point at which your throttle body is completely open and the maximum amount of air and fuel are entering the combustion chambers. It does occur at very high RPMs.

Being that your car is a 1997, you have a Gen III. Gen I was from 86-91 (i think), Gen II from 92-95, Gen III from 96-99, and Gen IV from 2000-present. The Duratec is an awesome little engine, and if properly maintained, will make you very happy.

There are a few cool mods to do to the Duratec to get you a little better mileage and a little more power. First of all, you'll want to go to the modifications page and find out how to remove your intake silencer. Get a K&N panel filter, some new mufflers, and you're good to go. You might also want to think about getting an auxillary transmission cooler installed, as our cars tend to have ATX (auto trans) problems in the long run.

How many miles are on your Bull? Have any pix?

JR

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the welcome, and thanks for the help.

As for mileage, I bought the car in september of last year from my Mother in law and it had 74,000 on it. It now has 99,338, and due for an oil change at the big 100,000 mark.