Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i was driving to school this morning and after i pulled away from a stop sign, my car stopped accelerating. the only thing that happens when the accelerator is pressed is the rpm goes up. I put the car in Neutral and it will move backwards, so it can move, also i think reverse worked. my dad is having it towed. when i get home, i will post more info. I think it may be a tranny problem, but I have no experience with cars, so i can only guess.

·
Premium Member
2,458 Posts
Sounds like a dead tranny. How many miles on the car?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
lol i forgot to mention that. It has ~ 122k miles on it.

·
Premium Member
952 Posts
If reverse works it's probably the transmission if it has the original in it. 120 is probably about the expected life time on a Taurus transmission. The bad news is that replacing the transmission can cost you up to $3500 for parts and labor (that's a Jasper tranny with 3 year / 75K warrenty). The good news is your engine probably has plenty of life left in it if you replace the transmission it will probably last you for another 120K miles, assuming you don't install a junk yard pull. If you replace the tranny, consider installing a secondary tranny cooler. if you have the tranny rebuilt, consider also having a shift kit installed.

-Dan

·
Registered
167 Posts
Does it go in any of the forward gears (D,2,1) if so it is not the tranny but a shift solenoid internal to the tranny. are you getting any codes? Did the car ever not go into overdrive when driving, was the problem intermittent and then became constant.

Shift solenoids are only about $25 but you still have to open an difficult to get to access port on teh ranny to replace

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #6