Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my *new to me* 96 taurus and it faild the emissions test. Well, it passed the test, but gave some DTC codes, so I failed. As far as I know the car has a clean record (as stated by my best friend who gave me the car) and just had all the belts and hoses checked/replaced. Here are the codes that the OBD gave:

P0133 ~ Upstream heated O2 sensor circuit slow response (Bank 1)
P0401 ~ EGR insufficient flow detected
P0420 ~ Catalyst system efficiency below threshold (Bank 1)
P0430 ~ Catalyst system efficiency below threshold (Bank 2)
P1131 ~ Manufacturer Controlled fuel and air metering

So, my reasoning (mind you I'm new to all this) is that the Bank 1 upstream O2 sensor may be bad, and that would cause P0133, P0420, and P1131. And with a swap of my EGR valve would take care of P0401. I considered that there may be a vacuum leak, but can't find any evidence of that.

If anyone has any ideas or experience with this please let me know. I've been driving around with a "Rejected" inspection sticker because of all this. Are these easy problems to fix myself, or should I count my losses and just go to a repair shop?

Thanks if advance everyone! Y'all have no idea how much this forum has helped me already!

Thanks for the help everyone!

::EDIT:: I've also read about the DPFE having problems (which will effect the EGR). Not sure if this could be the cause of my other problems, or whether I have a bigger problem.

·
Premium Member
2,090 Posts
on the DPFE, its the sensor, not the valve. The valves are indestructable, the sensors are alomost a 95% falure rate withing 100k miles. So replace the sensor ($80 and under 45min). As for the other issues, id reccmend changing the o2 sensor (or maybe both upstream sensors.)

Good Luck!

Brad

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Brad, I'll try replacing the DPFE....