Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Have A 92 SHO With 127,000 Miles On It And I Think I Either Spun A Bearing On The #6 Cylinder Connecting Rod Or Possibly A Wrist Pin. I Called Up A Machine Shop In My Area And They Said It Would Be About $350 To Machine The Crank And Get Correct Bearings. Now I Can Do The Rest Of The Work Myself But Here Is My Question, Would It Be Worth The Wrench Time & Money To Rebuild It Or, Swap It With Another Junkyard Motor {93 SHO} I have? Any Input Either way Will Be Appreciated. Also If You Have Done Either, What Snags Should I Watch For And About How Much Will It Cost. Time And Funds Are Limited To About A Week And $1500. Once Again Thanks For Any Help You May Offer And Happy And Safe SHOing.

·
Premium Member
5,359 Posts
If you want to do it yourself, whatever you're mechanically competent with is the cheapest. I'm not too good with tearing things apart as they don't seem to go back together very well. So I'd just do the swap.

X

·
0 Posts
I'd just get another motor. They aren't going for that much, plus you can probably replace some parts while you have it before you put it in your car to minimize car down time. Who knows, you can probably fix your old motor up later and sell it. I dont know where you are at, but you may want to check out some sho resources like www.shotimes.com or www.shoforum.com . Maybe you can find a few members near you and get them to help.

·
Premium Member
4,180 Posts