Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(apologies if this is already posted somewhere on here and has been answered already..I am new to the post)

I have a 2000 Ford Tarus 3.0 liter (FFV) with 90k and the engine died on me. I will replace the enging, but would *LOVE* to find a DOHC 24v engine to put in instead. There is a boneyard near me that has one from a 2003 with about 30k on it. I imagine I will have to replace the computer, but does anyone know how easy / difficult it would be to undertake? Details? Thanx in advance!!!

·
Registered
230 Posts
i better get to this before someone else yell at you for it

SEARCH IS YOUR FRIEND!!!

now with that out of the way, there are a few threads on this already. AFAIK it hasn't been done yet, but between the cost of the engine and the labor (not to mention depreciation of out cars), it would be easier and cheaper to buy a 2000 taurus with a duratec.

·
Premium Member
2,090 Posts
Welcome to the club!....Search the engine and drivetrin forum. Unless your buying the whole car from jhe junk yard...dont bother. Its MUCH easier cheaper and quicker to have the whole car.

Your new, so ill help ya out! :p

COMPLETE engine
All accesories (A/C, Alt, PS Pump, ETC)
Computer
Engine Wire Harness
Coolant tank
All associated PS, cooling, vacuum hoses, etc.
maybe tranny...not sure is bell housing is the same (either way your gonna want the newer on with the reputation these have)
Motor mounts and brackets
ETC.

Also, the fuel tank is diffrent as there are diffrent/additional evap emmisions stuff on the ffv fuel tank as well as there is an "octane plug" or fuel type sensor that will no longer be used. Not sure if that will cause an issue or not considering the wiring is on the body and not the engine.