Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all, newbie here -- apologies if this isn't the right area for this post, but we're at the end of our rope and need answers!!!

About 1000km (roughly 600 miles) shy of her warranty expiring, my mother's 2008 Taurus Limited started having problems with the cruise control randomly dying. Sometimes it works; sometimes it starts, but drops out; other times, it doesn't work at all. There have also been several instances now where, after sitting for a few hours/overnight, the car was dead in the water when she tried to start it. These seemed to follow the cruise control failures, and the car would need to be boosted or towed back to the dealer; dealer checks the car over, can't find anything wrong, gives it back. She then has maybe a few days grace before the whole process starts over again.

She's tried plugging in/unplugging things to see if that's causing a battery drain; made sure that there are no lights left on or doors left open; we can find nothing specific correlating to the battery drain other than the cruise control issues. She's been a month trying to get this figured out, and is currently on her fifth trip to the dealer after another no-start this morning -- which nearly cost us a scheduled surgery, and the problems have already cost her show tickets and other appointments. And as of today, she's also being told that her tow and boost costs are no longer covered under warranty/roadside. :huh:

Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated here... My mother loves that car and doesn't want to get rid of it, but may have to if the problem isn't solved; she can't be stuck without a reliable vehicle.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,377 Posts