Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing a lot of reading on how to disable DRL for a 2007 Ford Taurus and sadly it's not as easy as pulling a fuse or module for this year =(. Anybody know if DRL can be disabled/enabled using Forscan and OBDLink MX+?

I think I read about the dealership having a scan tool that can disable/enable them, but they probably want my first born son and one of my kidneys to do it. Was hoping for a cheaper solution.

Someone mentioned cutting the DRL wire and connecting it to a relay that activates when the lights are turned on, I am thinking this might be the only option besides getting the car reprogrammed.

Anyone familiar with the 2005-2007 DRL modules/wiring/programming? Any help would be great, thanks!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Why would you want to disable your DRL`s? It just seems like an unnecessary step, They double as your Turn signals so I wouldn`t suggest it without doing some risky wiring.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I seem to be burning through headlights fast for some reason. I am on my 3 rd set in 2 years now. Its always a low beam filament that burns out and Im guessing its because they are always on.

I was reading DRL are suppose to be using lower power however I see no difference when I turn the lights to on and off.

Any idea?

·
Registered
10,864 Posts
I seem to be burning through headlights fast for some reason. I am on my 3 rd set in 2 years now. Its always a low beam filament that burns out and Im guessing its because they are always on.

I was reading DRL are suppose to be using lower power however I see no difference when I turn the lights to on and off.

Any idea?