Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I have been addressing a no start problem for a month on my 2005 Taurus 3.0. I'm at the point of removing the starter, which I have done before. I can't get the top bolt off and probably rounding off the head at this point. I soaked it with WD-40 and have tried multiple socket 6 and 12 pt with various handles. No luck. I don't want to completely ruin the bolt so I am thinking of....

Buying a 13mm boxed wrench and some CRC Freeze off. Is this plan sound ok? I've never used the product before but it seems like it would work. I'm hoping I can get the boxed end over the bolt or at least the 12pt side. My socket seem to not be deep enough to properly seat of the bolt. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
333 Posts
Just a suggestion, are you sure you are on the correct bolt? Have not done this in a while but don't think I needed a long socket. Maybe thread the bottom bolt back in to get a better alignment? I try to use 6pt to not round off the corners of the bolt. Can you tap on a 13mm socket, may not have the room or clearance. Good luck.

Scott

·
Registered
6,577 Posts
I have used CRC Freeze Off and am not impressed. Bought it on sale to try and never used it after the first try just doesn't get cold enough. Think it is R134a refrigerant in the can.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's the correct 13mm bolt. I'm hoping I'll have better luck tomorrow with a wrench. I'd hate to have to tow the car for a stupid bolt but I'm running out of time. It's my daughters car and she goes back to college in 11 days.

·
Registered
61 Posts
can you get liquid wrench on the threaded area, and use a 6 point socket or wrench? Also a 1/2 inch six point is 12.7 mm. Make sure that isn't a 1/2" head which is slightly smaller than the 13 mm.

·
Registered
333 Posts