Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Problem: P0316 Misfire code / P0301 Cylinder 1

126k mi

Engine would rough idle, especially under load like AC or in drive with brake depressed. Stutter when going up hill after down shift.

First problem was rough idle in park. This was due to a leak and collapse of the IAC tube under the UIM. The rubber elbow joint that leads into the IAC had worn and collapsed onto itself under vaccume. Second, to fix the misfire, replaced spark plugs and wires. Wasn't the solution, but the plugs were original so it needed that anyway. Final solution was replacement of the Coil Pack. All of these repairs required partial removal of the UMI for access to 1-2-3 plugs and the coil pack.

Resolution: Replace coil pack ($93 Advance Auto Parts), IAC tube (Ford Auto $28)

Lastly, I'd like to thank all the posters in the repair forums. I'm not a mechanic, nor that inclined to engine work, but after reading the multiple entries on this site as to what to expect and how to remove the UMI, it was a breeze. Thanks to all for giving me the confidence to take this on without having to pay over $600 for what was a simple repair. I hope this post can help the next guy.

·
Premium Member
612 Posts
Hi,
Great fix!

There is a wealth of info here, as you already know,
even if you do not do the work yourself you will have a better
understanding should you need to have a shop do the work for you.

It also helps to have an identical make or model in the driveway,
I always own two of the same Fords, makes it easy to swap sensors out,
etc and get it fixed without spending big money.

99% of the posters here are polite and never put you down for asking
even the most basic questions, as if we're all in the same room.

·
Registered
23,391 Posts
I think you meant pcv tube? Plugs, wires and coil are a good line-up for eliminating misfires with fuel injector(s) being on deck.

·
Registered