Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy,

I just became a member here in order to help out an older lady who owns a 2003 Ford Taurus SES with a 3.0L V6 Vulcan engine.

Basically, she's telling me that many times she tries to open the door with the remote control (key fob) and it won't work. Car won't start either, like if everything just died. Nothing will work. No lights, no power windows, no nothing. Then, after trying a few times and/or waiting 15 minutes or so, everything would work as normal.

In fatc, yesterday while driving, the car just stopped running and literally working at all. Then, after pulling over, car restarted and kept working like nothing happen. That was the first time this happened (cutting off while driving) though.

BTW, she bought a new battery last November.

First of all, I'm not a mechanic, but I checked every single wire under the hood and connection. I've been doing quite a lot of Google research online, but haven't found any specific answer. I've even checked the VIN for recalls on Ford's webpage, but no recalls showed up. Obviously, it seems to be an electrical issue, but with what specifically, I've no idea.

She's taken the car to some dude, but they told her that they could not find any problems, however, this dude does not have a computer to check for codes. If anything, I told her to take it to Pep Boys in order to find out if car's throwing any codes.

So, please if anyone has any suggestions, I'd appreciate it. I hope Y'all having a great Memorial weekend!

Serg

·
Premium Member
1,300 Posts
I would first disconnect/lube/reconnect grounding strips. Continue with fuses and relays. Then all electrical connectors..... until someone suggests a better solution.

·
Registered
10,939 Posts
Elect