Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I am new to Taurus Club, and I have a problem. I have a 2002 Ford Taurus, and what is going on is the odometer tachometer and speedometer only work sometimes. I do not know anything about cars, so I would need things explained to me, I couldn't make sense of some of the posts I could find about this issue. When I'm driving, sometimes I notice the tachometer and speedometer jump for a second, then go back to zero. Sometimes I can turn the car off and back on and it will be working, other days you can turn it off and on twenty times and it still will not work. Sometimes It will start working after driving for a few seconds other days you can drive it all day long and it will not work once. Cruise control is not affected by this, I can use the speedometer on my phone and set cruise at 30mph and it stays there just fine. All other indicators and lights in the instrument panel work including the high beam light which I read on another post was on the same fuse. I read another post about this but it was a 03 Taurus and I didn't know if there was a difference or not but there was no solution on there either. I try taking the fuse out and putting it back in and it has the same result sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. My issue is pretty similar except my car is a 02 and my speedometer and tachometer sometimes jump while I am driving like they are getting power for a second and then losing it again and going back to zero. Is this a bad wire? It doesn't sound like it could be a sensor because cruise control is able to maintain perfect speed wherever you set it, and the engine and transmission are 100% not affected by this issue. I am afraid buying a new instrument cluster will end up causing me the same problem if it has to be hooked up to the same wiring my current one uses, so if anybody can help me, let me know.

·
Registered
32 Posts