Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,
Im new to this forum, so if this is in the wrong spot, moderator please move it.
This is my first Ford, so im a bit of a Newbie. I just bought this car, and it has a no crank symptom. Its a 2000 Ford Taurus SE. The radio, windows, horn, dash, and all the lights work. The fuel pump turns on, but when you hit the key in neutral or park it does not start. I checked fuse #7 and it is good, and the starter solenoid/relay. They are both good. There is power going to both the fuse and relay. I also found a blown fuse under the dash, but not in the fuse box. It was in a little plastic fuse holder. It was a Buss 15 amp cylinder fuse. I changed it. The car also has a new battery. What might else i check? How do i check the Neutral Safety switch? is there anything else i can check?
Can i also put power manually to the starter to check that? I know how, but dont know if i should (if its safe or good for the car.)
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
8,624 Posts
With key held in START position, jiggle the shifter back and forth in both park and neutral and see if it will crank.

How do you know the starter is good? Did you run a jumper from the batt + terminal to the starter solenoid?

A higher end scan tool or Forscan with an ELM327 will let you look at what gear the TRS / NSS is telling PCM is selected.

·
Registered
10,672 Posts
Pic of hot wire of starter. Just a short wire with quarter inch spade on one end. Other bare and to the bat post. Can crank the engine over and not activate any other thing so no fuel or spark. Good for checking compression. And starter. Pic is for '03 year, which relay might be different for other years.
-chart-

Attachments

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
With key held in START position, jiggle the shifter back and forth in both park and neutral and see if it will crank.