Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1994 with a 3.8 L engine. I started fine the other day and the next it won't. The engine will rotate and try to start but it won't . I have replaced the fuel relay module, checked spark plugs, fuel pump turns on and the inertia switch has been checked. I can spray ether and it will run but dies as soon as i stop spraying . I've been an autobody tech for 16 yrs and have mechanic just as much. The car has fire to plugs and the fuel rail seems to have pressure. Can anyone help??!! Need to get this car running NOW!!!

HELP!!!!

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
u check to see if you have gas at the injectors?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
QUOTE (fordtaurus2000 @ May 30 2009, 09:06 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=729107
u check to see if you have gas at the injectors?[/b]

There is gas in the fuel rail and there is pressure but not sure if it is enough pressure to get into the injectors....I have no way to test it....I pressurised the system but still wont start...

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
Go to advance or AZ and rent a fuel pressure tik and see if you have the proper pressure. Might not have enought fuel pressure. Replace the fuel filter if you havent in awhile.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
QUOTE (fordtaurus2000 @ May 30 2009, 09:17 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=729113
Go to advance or AZ and rent a fuel pressure tik and see if you have the proper pressure. Might not have enought fuel pressure. Replace the fuel filter if you havent in awhile.[/b]

It has a fairly new fuel filter on it i check it first and un hook the lines it was free of debris and seem to have fairly good pressure when i turn the ignition switch on to see if the pump was working

·
Premium Member
2,577 Posts
I guess u have spark if you spray starting fluid in it and it runs. THen you might not have a strong enough spark.