Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a 1991 Ford Taurus Sho, and I'm trying to bypass the factory amplifier with a new amp. I have never done this before, so I have no idea what I am doing.

I am trying to get the power cable from the amp through the firewall, but am not sure where to go through, or how to get it through.

I think I have found an unused grommet behind the brake pedal.
It sorta looks like this
http://www.caplugs.com/SupplyImages/...p_Enlarged.jpg

Is that correct?

So I just puncture a hole in that and push a wire hanger all the way through to the other side, and pull the power cable through that way?

And if that's right, will it be fairly easy to get the hanger all the way through, or will I have trouble finding the other end?

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,377 Posts
i think crutchfield has some online videos to help you out, if not try youtube.
if you hook things up in the wrong order you could fry your amp.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's not actually hooking up the amp that I'm having issues with, It's finding a way to get the power through the firewall. I've seen a lot of explanations for newer taurus', but I'm new at this and not entirely sure what to do.. All the usual grommets are full of wires, so I don't think i can get the power through them, so i've located an unused grommet. But I've never done this, so I don't know how to get the wire through it.

·
Registered
3,377 Posts
i use a razor to slice a small hole and feed it through. locate the grommet on the inside of the firewall under the dash and make sure there is nothing in the way first. i feed it from inside to the engine bay because its less to push through. using a lube helps so the wire passes through without pulling the grommet out. use zip ties to keep it tucked up and out of the way.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·