Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I recently purchased an 07 Taurus.

It has been starting pretty good for the most part. Then one time I had gone to start the car and it cranked for a bit longer than normal, then it fired, then the RPM's dropped, and it stalled. Then at start attempt #2, it started just fine.

I took it back to the dealer and they changed the fuel filter and told me to let them know.

Today, the car did the same thing. Anyone have any ideas? Just want a few to be able to point the dealer in the right direction. ;)

I'm new to the Taurus, but very familiar with the good old 3.8 GM's. They had issues with fuel pumps doing funny stuff like this. Do the fuel pumps go in Taurus's easily. What is the fuel PSI for the Taurus at Prime and Idle.

Thank you and ideas are definitely welcomed!

·
Premium Member
2,936 Posts
i have the same problem on my 2004 when cold, but im broke and its too cold to work on it now, no other problems though, and turning the key and waiting doesnt do anything so im not sure if its the fuel pump, i also do not have a CEL

·
Registered
75 Posts
It could be poor quality gas.

Try filling up at a big name fuel station (Chevron, Shell, Exxon, Mobil etc) that does alot of business selling gas.....some stations have lower quality fuel.....in terms of "winter fuel". The gas stations are supposed to keep "winter fuel" (the actual fuel is more volatile to help with cold weather engine starts and warm-ups) in their storage tanks for a certain period of time. Well you can imagine that there is alot of variability to when the stations change fuel and the quality they get.

This problem happens to alot of people and alot of different cars around this time of year.

·
Premium Member
449 Posts
Check fuel pressure, oh and try starting it floored and if it starts check your iac

·
Premium Member
17,415 Posts