Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Ford Taurus SE, 3.0L Vulcan, AX4N/4F50N transmission
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 06 Taurus SE, and I'm new to Fords altogether. I had no issues at all on the test drive; however, about 600 miles later I'm having a vibration issue. I can not figure out exactly what's causing the issue, and I'm praying it's not in the transmission. After the car has sat long enough to cool down completely, and is started up, everything is smooth for about the first 10 miles until everything is nice and warmed up, then the car begins to vibrate once the transmission shifts into overdrive cruising at highway speeds ~60 mph. I put some "Instant Shudder Fixx" in the tranny today, hoping that fixes the issue. I don't know when the last transmission service was done, so I'm going to have a trusted mobile mechanic drain & fill with Genuine Motorcraft Mercon V ATF, and replace the filter and gasket, and possibly add a bottle of LubeGard Red (worked really well on my '97 Civic).

With that said, I have a few questions.

• How many qts of fluid should i pick up for a drain & fill?
  • I've read about 'resetting' the transmission because it somehow stores driving habits. Could this possibly be an issue? If so how do I reset what it's learned from previous owner?
  • Can I use any Mercon V ATF in power steering?
If anyone has any additional information that may be able to help me out, I would greatly appreciate it... Being on fixed income sucks, otherwise I'd just take it in to a shop for complete diagnosis; however, I'm trying to avoid that if possible.

·
Registered
6,877 Posts
Not sure Lube Guard Red is the right product I think Green is.https://www.lubegard.com/products/green/