Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm a newbie here and I know there has been lots of discussion about Taurus transmission issues. Our transmission (actually, my son is driving the car) has already been replaced, by Tuffy's, with a used tranny with 25,000 miles on it (the car itself has 76,000 miles). After spending $2,600 (including alignment, water pump, etc.), my son picked up the car from Tuffy's and has been driving it around. He reports a new problem and I confirmed it personally yesterday. Sitting still, in gear with the engine running, there is a sporadic sort of mild "bump" :huh: every couple of seconds. I put it in neutral and still felt the occasional mild "bump" but less frequently. Otherwise the car shifts smoothly and these sporadic bumps are not noticeable except when going up a steep hill (which makes me wonder if the bumps or always there but only noticeable when the car is having to labor). I also noticed a very slight whine and the Check Engine Light is on. :( Tuffy's is happy to re-look at the car (90 day guarantee) but I want to go in on Monday as armed with information as possible. I can imagine them trying to tell me to just live with the problem. Is anyone familiar with these symptoms and what they might mean?

·
Registered
161 Posts
Go to a advance auto and have the code read. Don't let them erase it, just read it. That way you know what the code is and they can't pull one over on you.

It could be a misfire from the engine. It could be a transmission issue, the code will point you in the right direction.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
03 Taurus tranny update: OBD codes

Per advice on this board (thank you), the 03 Taurus SEL with newly replaced transmission was taken to Auto Zone for OBD code check. Here's what came up:

P0303: #3 cylinder misfire; probable cause ignition system spark plugs.