Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
getting ready to swap my engine,... actually,.. my bottom needs to be changed,.. a bearing spun on it,.. and it started to knock loud,.... well.. got a doner car,.. that is year 2000, with good bottom,.. my question..///;;

1..is the tranny same for the years..?? 00 and 01.. they both have 12valve vulcans..
the reason for asking,.. is my tranny is still good,.. but due to the technicality on the torque conv,.. I thought may be better to leave the torque converter with the donor's engine... if and only if they are the same one's.. just don't want to take it apart again,.. if something does not match,.. you know it's a lot of work involved,... some infos that I found saids it changed ,.. and some say that is same for those years,.. very very confusing,... well I'm not an expert on this,.. your expertise and suggestions,..... or am I wrong on the toq conv issue..??? should I just use mine,,..?? just replace the engine only..?? :rolleyes: ..
your input is appreciated,..

2...I'm planning to use the existing tops,..; intakes,.. and heads,.. etc,.. I guess I would have to
do a gasket job with it,.. reason is that I had head redone,.. resurfaced,.. etc,..not too long ago,.. and ran fine,.. so it's good,.. I know it....
donor's car's head is unknown,... for it is not running at this time,.. and missing some parts on the tops,..etc,... I'll guess it's very obvious,.... but your suggestions are welcome on this as well...

if anyone had some experience,./ or knowledge on this,.. your inputs will be appreciated,.. thanks.. jc...

·
Premium Member
15,922 Posts
What's with the odd punctuation?

For the trans, you have to make sure it's the right trans. The Vulcan came with either the AX4S or the AX4N and the parts are not interchangeable between the two.

And yes, you should change out any gaskets you take off.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3