good mechanic needed in central florida? - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-05-2013, 06:37 PM Thread Starter

Chapter: Please Select a Region:

Trader Score: 0 reviews
good mechanic needed in central florida?

hi, just wondering about any good independent shops or dealerships to go to for repairs that are good and honest.i live in the deland/daytona beach area.the mechanic I have been using for the last 10 years has been slowly going down hill.the guys he has now dont diagnose well.they guess and throw parts at my car.they dont double check there work.had to bring it back the last few times.my oil pressure light flickers when car is stopped after driving for a while.the car runs fine.it has 186,700 miles on it.i had oil changed at the dealership a couple of days ago.I changed it and filter every 3000 miles.the oil pressure sending unit was replaced but did not solve the problem.he told me to bring it back and leave it with him for the day to test the oil pressure on the engine.I thought he did it before hand.i sat there for 4 hours.i just want to confirm if the motor is too worn or if it can be fixed.i dont want to waste anymore time or money.thanks in advance.i have kept up with the maintenence schedule to the t.this would suck if this car is ready to die so early.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-05-2013, 07:10 PM
Exalted Grand Poobah

Chapter: Southeast
Year: 1990
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6

Frankly, your mechanic's shop sounds as if they are doing things properly. No one can troubleshoot a low oil-pressure situation without replacing the most obvious, least expensive potential causes first. That is (I hope) what you yourself would do if you were doing the work yourself. Short of doing a Vulcan mind-meld (ooh, nice pun there), no one can become one with the automobile and know beyond a shadow of a doubt what causes certain things to happen.