Fuel injector replacement on 98 Taurus. - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By chartmaker

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 02:29 PM Thread Starter

Trader Score: 0 reviews
Fuel injector replacement on 98 Taurus.

Hi, I was given a 1998 Ford Taurus that had been sitting for a while. I love my car and she worked great till about 6 months ago. I've been learning along the way to fix things. My car started misfiring and I was going thru alot of gas. I changed the fuel filter, because it looked ancient. I'm now trying to replace the fuel injectors. It's a 3.0. I'm hoping someone can guide me in the right direction on replacing the back ones. I did manage to get the front ones out, they were in really bad shape. I am on a tight budget, so I cannot afford a shop. I have googled and searched YouTube, and its frustrating, because I'm still learning all the parts. Since I'm a girl, most men I talk to roll their eyes, because they dont think I can do it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 03:59 PM
Technical Advisor

Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2005
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6

Rare for even 1 injector to fail, much less all of them. Modern injectors typically last hundreds of thousands of miles. Good quality injectors cost big $$, and cheap Ebay ones are poor quality. Not the kind of parts you want to replace without detailed troubleshooting.

CEL on? Does the CEL even work? CEL should come on with key in RUN but engine not running and go off when engine is started.

I suggest getting hold of a good scan tool that reads data (PIDs) and look at long term fuel trims at idle and with the engine under load even if the CEL is not on.

Which 3.0 engine? 12 valve Vulcan or 24 valve Duratec?

05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car - TOTALED
06 Taurus SE Vulcan - wifes new ride
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car