TAURUS code P1504, replaced IACV but still says FAULTY?? - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-08-2018, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Tennersey
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2002
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
TAURUS code P1504, replaced IACV but still says FAULTY??

2002 ford Taurus. Engine light came on so I used a code reader which said code P1503(1504 I mean) Idle Air Control Value. Bought one and replaced it but as soon as I re-started the car the code came back and I do not understand this and do not know what to do now.
I am not a mechanic and do not have a bunch of extra money.


I failed an E-Test that was required to take just to get my Tags renewed, otherwise I saw/noticed nothing unusual about how the car was running.


Any help would be so appreciated.

Last edited by Taurus88K; 09-09-2018 at 11:28 AM.
Taurus88K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-09-2018, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Bannerj29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Chicago
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2002
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 194
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Did you erase the code with the scan tool first? Did you buy A motorcraft part?
sheila, sousa632 and snosaint like this.
Bannerj29 is offline  
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-09-2018, 03:46 AM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2006
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 6,446
Rep Power: 64
    
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Could also be a bad wire or bad connector. If you have a multi meter you can check the resistance of the IAC valve. and compare it to the old one . I should be around 10 ohms but not totally sure on that number but should have some continuity. Motorcrafts IAC seem to be the only ones that actually perform correctly but all should eliminate a circuit code unless it is in the wiring.


Did you erase the code?
sheila likes this.
Automender12345 is offline  
 
post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-09-2018, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Tennersey
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2002
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bannerj29 View Post
Did you erase the code with the scan tool first? Did you buy A motorcraft part?

I cleared the code but it came back. I bought brand name Duralast.
Taurus88K is offline  
post #5 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-09-2018, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Tennersey
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2002
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automender12345 View Post
Could also be a bad wire or bad connector. If you have a multi meter you can check the resistance of the IAC valve. and compare it to the old one . I should be around 10 ohms but not totally sure on that number but should have some continuity. Motorcrafts IAC seem to be the only ones that actually perform correctly but all should eliminate a circuit code unless it is in the wiring.


Did you erase the code?

Do you mean test the Ohms with the engine off of the IAC or the wire connecting to the IAC or both ?


Yes I erased code but it come back on as soon as I restarted the car with the new IAC from DURALAST installed.
Taurus88K is offline  
post #6 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-09-2018, 01:31 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2006
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 6,446
Rep Power: 64
    
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus88K View Post
Do you mean test the Ohms with the engine off of the IAC or the wire connecting to the IAC or both ?


Yes I erased code but it come back on as soon as I restarted the car with the new IAC from DURALAST installed.

Most on the forum will say Duralast is junk in terms of responsiveness to engine conditions but it should at least not throw that code. At least on my 2006 Vulcan if you pull the connector off the IAC it will set a code and go to 500 rpms and sit there.


I mean to check the resistance of the coil in the IAC by pulling the connector and measuring at the terminals of the valve. I just went out in the garage and measured a known good IAC and get 11.8 ohms.
kekaye56 likes this.

Last edited by Automender12345; 09-09-2018 at 01:35 PM.
Automender12345 is offline  
post #7 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-10-2018, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Tennersey
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2002
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automender12345 View Post
Most on the forum will say Duralast is junk in terms of responsiveness to engine conditions but it should at least not throw that code. At least on my 2006 Vulcan if you pull the connector off the IAC it will set a code and go to 500 rpms and sit there.


I mean to check the resistance of the coil in the IAC by pulling the connector and measuring at the terminals of the valve. I just went out in the garage and measured a known good IAC and get 11.8 ohms.
TESTED from 10.8 to 11.3 ohms Also since installing new IAC every engine start it jumps to 2200 rpm then down to 1,000 rpm which it never did before. I'm lost and fear a GIGANTIC mechanic bill coming on.
Taurus88K is offline  
post #8 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-10-2018, 04:13 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2006
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 6,446
Rep Power: 64
    
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus88K View Post
TESTED from 10.8 to 11.3 ohms Also since installing new IAC every engine start it jumps to 2200 rpm then down to 1,000 rpm which it never did before. I'm lost and fear a GIGANTIC mechanic bill coming on.
That response when you start the engine is almost guaranteed to be from the non Motorcraft IAC. I have had the same experience with after market IAC. The code is a different story and you should take a close look at the connector and wiring to that connector. Maybe wiggle the connector and wiring to see if there is a change in idle. I would reinstall the old Motorcraft IAC and take back the new one. Advance Auto Parts took my valve back after it did not respond correctly. I installed a junk yard one on my 2006, it cost $15.
Automender12345 is offline  
post #9 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-11-2018, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Tennersey
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2002
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automender12345 View Post
That response when you start the engine is almost guaranteed to be from the non Motorcraft IAC. I have had the same experience with after market IAC. The code is a different story and you should take a close look at the connector and wiring to that connector. Maybe wiggle the connector and wiring to see if there is a change in idle. I would reinstall the old Motorcraft IAC and take back the new one. Advance Auto Parts took my valve back after it did not respond correctly. I installed a junk yard one on my 2006, it cost $15.
Could it be I have not driven enough Miles after replacing the IAC ? I've used another car and only put under 10 road miles on this Taurus....what do you, or anyone else, think about more road miles for it to retrain/adjust this new IAC?? thanks again
Taurus88K is offline  
post #10 of 48 (permalink) Old 09-11-2018, 03:32 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2006
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 12v Vulcan V6
Posts: 6,446
Rep Power: 64
    
Trader Score: 0 reviews
No the response issue is because it is an aftermarket part. They just don't work well on these Taurus. Code is a wiring issue it seems.
kekaye56 likes this.
Automender12345 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P1633 Error Code 04 Taurus loganlindy Maintenance and Repair 11 03-09-2018 08:52 AM
Back again. 2007 Taurus P0174 code stored, P0171 code pending BullyforMe Maintenance and Repair 6 02-14-2018 09:39 PM
New to me 2007 Taurus with 180,000~ miles on it. I have a P0420 code. BullyforMe Maintenance and Repair 26 07-10-2017 06:47 AM
2007 Ford Taurus Airbag Light Code 19 DuB71 Maintenance and Repair 36 12-07-2014 01:59 PM
2008 Taurus SEL Airbag Code 46 MBeltran 5th and 6th Gen Maintenance and Repair 4 07-06-2013 11:31 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome