99 Sable Duratec crank, hard start - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 (permalink) Old 04-11-2015, 01:34 AM Thread Starter

Chapter: Southeast

Trader Score: 0 reviews
99 Sable Duratec crank, hard start

I want to start by saying that I have been visiting this forum for years (I have a 98 Ford Explorer, and Google suggested these forums a few times while searching for issues with it). I really like how close this community is, and there is so much helpful information posted, I bet most people can fix what they need with a search.

Thank being said, I have searched. I have read dozens of threads about my current problem, and although I learned a lot about my son's car, I still have not found the problem. I have been at this for a few weeks, not everyday, but several days (I am a disabled Air Force Veteran with a spinal injury that limits me a lot).

My son wanted to buy his first car, not much money, we found this 99 Mercury 3.0L Duratec pretty inexpensive. Test drove great, so I trusted the engine and trans (knew there would be a little work, but that is a great time to teach my son). Well this car has really been a great teaching tool

I will try to make the history of this vehicle as complete as I can:

It stalled on the way home from buying it. I ended up pulling the fuel filter and finding that it had not been changed in a very long time, and that it had a lot of water in it. I got a new filter installed and it was really hard to start and keep running, but the drive home was short.

I noticed that the fans never turned on, so I checked the ECT sensor, jumped the connector and got the fans to run. I replaced the sensor, which fixed that problem. Who knows how long it ran without the ECT and fans, lucky the engine still runs. But it was likely running with a bad mixture because of the failed ECT.