Ford SYNC2 to SYNC3 Upgrade - Page 2 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 13Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 89 (permalink) Old 03-27-2018, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Florida
Chapter: Southeast
Year: 2016
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: OTHER
Posts: 402
Rep Power: 5
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Not that anyone really cares but...

...I installed the 'direct from Ford' SYNC3 v3.0 over the weekend. I still don't see much (if any) improvement in Alexa. When porting music from the web-via-Alexa-cellular-network-via-Samsung J3 smart-ish phone-to-Alexa-to-Taurus/Sony it still drops the data stream/connection. A lot of data hand offs happening in there. There are specific places on my commute when the music stops (screen displays as if it was frozen, not paused) resuming a few minutes later from wherever in the song it was stuck. Other times in the same area, Alexa drops the song and the entire play instruction, reverting to her normal 'listening for wake word' status. I ask her to resume and she tells me she has nothing to resume. And often, if I wake word her when in these dead zones I hear, "I'm having trouble understanding right now..." (loss of internet). These are city areas (Daytona Beach) where I don't expect bad cellular service but the buildings are not so big as to block signal. It makes me think perhaps these businesses have strong WiFi and perhaps the J3 cellphone is attempting to switch to WiFi and Alexa gets perturbed at the unsteady data stream. I need to experiment by switching off the cellular WiFi and she if she maintains the flow better. I think the performance of the Samsung J3 may also be sketchy (weak) since they are budget smartphones.

I'm thinking Alexa also needs a larger data buffer bank to be able to skip over these dead spots or WiFi vs. cellular data interruptions.
Dougboffl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 89 (permalink) Old 04-04-2018, 02:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Chapter: Midwest
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Can you swap out the new Ce̩nter media console with the first generation console?
Mel2058 is offline  
post #13 of 89 (permalink) Old 04-09-2018, 12:51 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
AdmiralSparklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington
Chapter: West Coast
Year: 2013
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.5L Cyclone V6
Posts: 320
Rep Power: 5
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mel2058 View Post
Can you swap out the new Ce̩nter media console with the first generation console?

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by that. Could you elaborate?

2013 Taurus Limited - Sterling Grey Metallic | Adapted EcoBoost Turbos | PRE Tuning | Halos & Demon Eyes
AdmiralSparklez is offline  
 
post #14 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 04:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Chapter: Northeast
Year: 2011
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.5L Cyclone V6
Posts: 26
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
AdmiralSparklez or anyone else reading,

Maybe this is a dummy question, but I have the Sony audio package in my Taurus. Will I need a different APIM unit for this to continue to work properly?

Part-time tinkerer. Always looking for more knowledge.
Garage:
11 Ford Taurus Limited AWD - sold at 67k for a profit
11 Hyundai Sonata GLS - wife's
07 Mercury Milan Premier - sold to dad around 166k
01 Ford CVPI - owned for 5 months, sold still running
04 Hyundai Santa Fe - "Rusty" my new beater for a while
Limited413 is offline  
post #15 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Gen 5/6 Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Chapter: Northeast
Year: 2017
Model: OTHER
Engine: OTHER
Posts: 3,011
Rep Power: 29
  
Trader Score: 0 reviews
^ Shouldn't have to worry about a Sony vs Non Sony APIM.

thefranchise713

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Follow my new story with the Bull's taller, older sister:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Our lives are a series of missions, aided by our gifts and talents, in pursuit of a stronger neighborhood.
thefranchise713 is offline  
post #16 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-03-2018, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
AdmiralSparklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington
Chapter: West Coast
Year: 2013
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.5L Cyclone V6
Posts: 320
Rep Power: 5
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
An APIM is an APIM so this will work totally fine. Even if you didn't have the Sony package, this swap would still work perfect! Just remember, there's always some programming to the as-built of the APIM required.

2013 Taurus Limited - Sterling Grey Metallic | Adapted EcoBoost Turbos | PRE Tuning | Halos & Demon Eyes
AdmiralSparklez is offline  
post #17 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 03:42 PM
Junior Member
 
2013_SHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
I have a 2013 Taurus SHO with the MyTouch system. From what I'm reading, I have to change the APIM, among other things. Can I reuse the same touch screen, or do I have to find a newer touch screen?
2013_SHO is offline  
post #18 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
AdmiralSparklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington
Chapter: West Coast
Year: 2013
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.5L Cyclone V6
Posts: 320
Rep Power: 5
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013_SHO View Post
I have a 2013 Taurus SHO with the MyTouch system. From what I'm reading, I have to change the APIM, among other things. Can I reuse the same touch screen, or do I have to find a newer touch screen?

The screen itself you will need as well. Typically the SYNC3 APIM is sold as a whole unit with it's touchscreen and connector cable for the screen to the APIM. You cannot use the old screen since the new one is a capacitive screen, much better than the SYNC2 screen.

2013 Taurus Limited - Sterling Grey Metallic | Adapted EcoBoost Turbos | PRE Tuning | Halos & Demon Eyes
AdmiralSparklez is offline  
post #19 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 06:27 AM
Junior Member
 
2013_SHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 10
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralSparklez View Post
The screen itself you will need as well. Typically the SYNC3 APIM is sold as a whole unit with it's touchscreen and connector cable for the screen to the APIM. You cannot use the old screen since the new one is a capacitive screen, much better than the SYNC2 screen.
Thanks. Now, all I need to do is find a screen and APIM at a reasonable price...
2013_SHO is offline  
post #20 of 89 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
AdmiralSparklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington
Chapter: West Coast
Year: 2013
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.5L Cyclone V6
Posts: 320
Rep Power: 5
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013_SHO View Post
Thanks. Now, all I need to do is find a screen and APIM at a reasonable price...



The average price I've seen is around $220. I have seen a fair amount in the $150 price point!

2013 Taurus Limited - Sterling Grey Metallic | Adapted EcoBoost Turbos | PRE Tuning | Halos & Demon Eyes
AdmiralSparklez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Member- Ford Taurus & Ford Focus Driver-2002 Introduction Forum 6 09-23-2014 11:27 PM
Updated coolant cap (applies to all Taurus/Sable models from 1996 on) The White Falcon Solutions to Common Problems and 'How To' Articles 3 01-03-2014 09:12 PM
The Historic '03 Red Wagon DLC360 Taurus and Sable Project Log 20 06-24-2013 09:57 PM
2003 Ford Taurus stereo upgrade help Shrek Electronics, Security, Audio and Visual 7 04-05-2013 01:31 AM
Recall 96s51 joshuapace Maintenance and Repair 2 01-16-2006 01:25 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome