How Do I Take Out My Radio?! ..*pics* - Page 10 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 1Likes
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #91 of 96 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 04:46 PM
I'll Be Watching You!

 
sousa632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Forked River, NJ
Chapter: Northeast
Year: 2007
Model: OTHER
Engine: OTHER
Posts: 14,343
Rep Power: 83
    
Trader Score: 2 reviews
You will have to search for a Metra Dash kit to get everything functioning as it's all integrated into the radio housing.

John
2007 Pontiac Torrent, 2013 Hyundai Sonata GLS
sousa632 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 96 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 05:15 PM
Devoted Member
 
it'sthatcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Chapter: Northern
Posts: 3,512
Rep Power: 25
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlevski View Post
If I remove the radio will I lose my controls for the heater and A/C? I really want to put a 2 DIN radio on the place of the original radio but I don't want to lose the power to control my heater or AC, please help.
Do you have EATC, or the standard knob climate control? If you have knobs, there's no hope for a double-din aftermarket faceplate, that I'm aware of. If you have EATC, there is a kit that will allow you to retain function of all climate controls, and will fit either a single or double DIN stereo.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


David

2004 SEL Comfort ~ Shadow Grey Metallic ~ Mach upgrade with Pioneer speakers in the doors and Kenwood speakers in the rear deck ~ tinted windows ~ amber rear turn signal mod
it'sthatcar is offline  
post #93 of 96 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 06:47 PM
Member
 
SantaClawZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Knoxville, TN
Chapter: Southeast
Posts: 497
Rep Power: 15
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlevski View Post
If I remove the radio will I lose my controls for the heater and A/C? I really want to put a 2 DIN radio on the place of the original radio but I don't want to lose the power to control my heater or AC, please help.
If you have manual controls and REALLY want a double DIN, you could make a custom dash kit with fiberglass...

Owner of SounDriveOwner of Team Audiomatic

04 Tahoe
04 Taurus
SantaClawZ is offline  
 
post #94 of 96 (permalink) Old 08-05-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
CMH_2090's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oregon
Chapter: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 211
Rep Power: 14
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
They have flip out single din units that offer a screen. Not sure how good they are and how long the motor will last...

Also scosche offers some dash kits. Imo much better looking ones too.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Owner of a 1997 Ford Taurus GL


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CMH_2090 is offline  
post #95 of 96 (permalink) Old 08-09-2014, 06:39 PM
Member
 
SantaClawZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Knoxville, TN
Chapter: Southeast
Posts: 497
Rep Power: 15
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMH_2090 View Post
They have flip out single din units that offer a screen. Not sure how good they are and how long the motor will last...

Also scosche offers some dash kits. Imo much better looking ones too.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
The Scosche kit is trash compared to the Metra kit (gen 4 at least), I won't ever be using a Scosche dash kit in any of my vehicles. They're cheaply made and the looks reflect that.

No single DIN flip out units that are decent quality are currently on the market, either
03TarRob likes this.

Owner of SounDriveOwner of Team Audiomatic

04 Tahoe
04 Taurus

Last edited by SantaClawZ; 08-09-2014 at 06:49 PM.
SantaClawZ is offline  
post #96 of 96 (permalink) Old 09-18-2015, 06:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 49
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
I have a quick question ... I have a 2006 ford Taurus and I need to find out what the screw size is that holds the plate over the radio ???? the previous owner installed a different stereo and there is one or two screws missing and it is lose... thks
bluetaurus01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome