Double din radio - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By 01_Bull.Tom
  • 1 Post By Hornswaggle
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Double din radio

So I have the radio that integrates the ac controls and radio into one piece and I’d like to install a double din radio my buddy gifted me after he totaled his car (he got a brand new car and doesn’t want to go through the hassle of trying to upgrade an already good system). Is there a kit or any way I can use this radio any info pics or personal experience in doing this would be helpful.
lavarion.bolling likes this.
01_Bull.Tom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 07:44 AM
Play Nice or Don't Play

 
jag1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Year: 1998
Model: Ford Taurus SHO
Engine: 3.4L Yamaha V8
Posts: 14,851
Rep Power: 120
       
Trader Score: 0 reviews
There are kits available and many threads here on the subject. Use the search box

It's SHO time!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jag1959 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2004
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 462
Rep Power: 19
 
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01_Bull.Tom View Post
So I have the radio that integrates the ac controls and radio into one piece and I’d like to install a double din radio my buddy gifted me after he totaled his car (he got a brand new car and doesn’t want to go through the hassle of trying to upgrade an already good system). Is there a kit or any way I can use this radio any info pics or personal experience in doing this would be helpful.

Hey Tom, like Jag said there are a lot of kits available to do that. I got a Metra kit for my '03 but there are other brands out there. If you are doing a google or amazon search it looks like the key words are dash kit. I would say just to make sure the kit you get includes all the cables otherwise you'll have to buy those separately. You'll need to run the cables from the new radio back to the trunk to plug into the existing wiring harness. The amps for our radio's are in the trunk behind the liner on the drivers side. The new radio won't use the stock amp but that's where you still need to plug into the stock harness. If your car doesn't have the door tweeters that would also be a great upgrade, check out member Durasel on this board and he can hook you up with some.
lavarion.bolling likes this.

Kevin

Current stable
2004 Sable LS Prem DOHC
2003 Taurus SES Vulcan
2002 Taurus SES DOHC

Retired:
2001 Taurus SES DOHC
2000 Taurus SE Vulcan
1994 Sable GS
1988 Taurus LX
Hornswaggle is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 10:43 AM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 1998
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 22,355
Rep Power: 112
     
Trader Score: 1 reviews
May search Metra and/or Scosche adapter kits.
sheila is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornswaggle View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 01_Bull.Tom View Post
So I have the radio that integrates the ac controls and radio into one piece and I’d like to install a double din radio my buddy gifted me after he totaled his car (he got a brand new car and doesn’t want to go through the hassle of trying to upgrade an already good system). Is there a kit or any way I can use this radio any info pics or personal experience in doing this would be helpful.

Hey Tom, like Jag said there are a lot of kits available to do that. I got a Metra kit for my '03 but there are other brands out there. If you are doing a google or amazon search it looks like the key words are dash kit. I would say just to make sure the kit you get includes all the cables otherwise you'll have to buy those separately. You'll need to run the cables from the new radio back to the trunk to plug into the existing wiring harness. The amps for our radio's are in the trunk behind the liner on the drivers side. The new radio won't use the stock amp but that's where you still need to plug into the stock harness. If your car doesn't have the door tweeters that would also be a great upgrade, check out member Durasel on this board and he can hook you up with some.
So I looked on the forums and searched google and amazon I haven’t found anything but either the single din with the integrated manual ac controls like I have currently and the metra with digital controls can I use the the metra with the digital controls. Correct me if I’m wrong but the controls on mine work on some kind of a vacuum I don’t see anywhere on the metra kit atleast in pictures that those vacuum lines would plug into
01_Bull.Tom is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old Today, 06:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sioux City
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 1999
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 35
Rep Power: 0
 
Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Hi Tom
You might want to check out Crutchfield.com.
They sell the Metra kits with the wiring harness adapters.
It might make your life easier also!

Jay
1999 SE Sport
jayfmn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added Double Din Touchscreen Techpriest Electronics, Security, Audio and Visual 1 07-28-2019 10:07 PM
Danged RADIO conked out! 68Kustom Maintenance and Repair 11 09-22-2018 09:46 AM
2003 Wagon Radio Replacement aruption Electronics, Security, Audio and Visual 0 04-25-2018 06:06 AM
Questions about replacing radio. CShaggy Electronics, Security, Audio and Visual 1 08-07-2017 01:30 AM
3rd Gen Radio Troubleshooting Securitygate Electronics, Security, Audio and Visual 4 03-16-2015 10:30 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome