Erratic Fuel Gauge Fixed (ffv’s Only) - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-30-2006, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PG county, MD
Posts: 1,011
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
The fuel gauge in my ffv was inaccurate. It would occasionally display the right amount of fuel in the tank but most of the time it was way off. After searching I came across this page that had a cheap and easy fix.

Parts Needed:
Part #YF1Z-14A069-AA wiring ASY (I forgot the actual part name so I'll call it module) $40 at you local ford dealer

Tools needed:
8mm nut driver
7mm nut driver
radio removal tools $3

Time to complete: 20 minutes

STEP 5:
Tighten everything back up and reconnect the battery. Start up the car and observe the fuel gauge to see if it reflects the right amount of fuel in the tank.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I'm told they will only need 30 to 60 minutes to install. So I tell them I can wait. 4 hours later I see 4 tech's around my car scratching their heads. Not a good sign.
freshv6power is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-03-2006, 10:55 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Just replaced this yesterday. Fixed my problem. I posted an article yesterday and took photos while replacing this. No need to disconnect battery (so long as keyswitch is of)or take the climate control/radio assembly out. Sensor is accessible from underneath, but it is a bit tight to get to.
sh01443 is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-03-2006, 11:03 AM
mwt
Crazy Devoted Member
 
mwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 8,433
Rep Power: 43
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
No need to disconnect battery (so long as keyswitch is of)or take the climate control/radio assembly out. S
[/b]

Anytime you are doing something like this you should disconnect the battery simply for safety's sake.

There is no telling what a screwdriver or any other tool will come in contact with if it slips.


Mike

"If you're a fan of getting into fat girls' pants, Dave Matthews Band CDs are the greatest invention since a ham on a fishing pole.

If I had known there was going to be a test I would have studied


94gl Vulcan totalled 4-01-04
99 LX FFV-purchased 4-17-04 totalled 5-17-06 untotalled on 9-2-07 and back on the road
New Paint coming soon
2000 SES Duratec
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2000 SEL Duratec this thing has everything but a spoiler
mwt is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-04-2006, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PG county, MD
Posts: 1,011
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Just replaced this yesterday. Fixed my problem. I posted an article yesterday and took photos while replacing this. No need to disconnect battery (so long as keyswitch is of)or take the climate control/radio assembly out. Sensor is accessible from underneath, but it is a bit tight to get to.
[/b]
That's because you have a Gen4. On the Gen 3's it's right behind the radio unit.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I'm told they will only need 30 to 60 minutes to install. So I tell them I can wait. 4 hours later I see 4 tech's around my car scratching their heads. Not a good sign.
freshv6power is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 02-16-2007, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PG county, MD
Posts: 1,011
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
solutions to common problems or wiki?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I'm told they will only need 30 to 60 minutes to install. So I tell them I can wait. 4 hours later I see 4 tech's around my car scratching their heads. Not a good sign.
freshv6power is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2007, 06:32 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
ffvulcanpowah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Chapter: Southern
Posts: 8,708
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ffvulcanpowah
Yes!!! Finally a solution to my posessed fuel gauge! I was so worried I would have to change out my sender (though, who knows, I still might have to ), but I'm certainly going to give this a shot and see how it works. Thanks a mill!!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"YOU WILL ALL BOW DOWN TO MY AWESOME SHO THAT IS REALLY JUST A TAURUS WITH FIDDLY BITS AND TWO MORE CYLINDERS!!!11ONE" -Dan
"If you got the lack of sense to mod a TAURUS you should be allowed to cut a hole in your hood. Let everyone see the extent of your madness" -Luke
ffvulcanpowah is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-06-2007, 11:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
The fuel gauge in my ffv was inaccurate. It would occasionally display the right amount of fuel in the tank but most of the time it was way off. After searching I came across this page that had a cheap and easy fix.

Parts Needed:
Part #YF1Z-14A069-AA wiring ASY (I forgot the actual part name so I'll call it module) $40 at you local ford dealer

Tools needed:
8mm nut driver
7mm nut driver
radio removal tools $3

Time to complete: 20 minutes

STEP 5:
Tighten everything back up and reconnect the battery. Start up the car and observe the fuel gauge to see if it reflects the right amount of fuel in the tank.
[/b]

You stated the repair for a 3/4 generation vehicle with FFV, is it a similar fix for a 1990 model (generation 1) with the 3.0 OHV motor (it does not have FFV)? I looked up the part number you provided and it is listed as "wire asy-Fuel tank g." Thank you for your assistance.
Taurus90Taurus05 is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-19-2007, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PG county, MD
Posts: 1,011
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:

You stated the repair for a 3/4 generation vehicle with FFV, is it a similar fix for a 1990 model (generation 1) with the 3.0 OHV motor (it does not have FFV)? I looked up the part number you provided and it is listed as "wire asy-Fuel tank g." Thank you for your assistance.
[/b]
Sorry this reply is late. I believe this part is only for FFV's since there are other parts in the system that work in conjuction with it.

But there may be a similar part for non-FFV versions. I don't really know.



UPDATE

It's been 3 months since I did this repair and so far there have been no problems.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I'm told they will only need 30 to 60 minutes to install. So I tell them I can wait. 4 hours later I see 4 tech's around my car scratching their heads. Not a good sign.
freshv6power is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-19-2007, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
DrinkMore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 946
Rep Power: 28
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to DrinkMore Send a message via MSN to DrinkMore Send a message via Yahoo to DrinkMore
Anyone make this a WIKI yet? It should be incase new people come in with the issue.
DrinkMore is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 09:05 PM
Junior Member
 
lorsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fremont, NE.
Posts: 58
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
I also tried this on my 2000 Taurus FFV and it worked great. Best $43.00 I have yet to spend on this car. Was worried I would have to remove the gas tank. My gauge said 1/3 tank when purchased in Feb. but then went to way overfull and hadn't moved till I replaced this part. Great write-up and thanks for the info.

2000 Taurus SE FFV
lorsod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome