Computer Change - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2004, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 2003
Join Date: Dec 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 28
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
saurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

hi u i whant to ask if changing a taurus 2000 computer to a 2001-2002-2003-2004 will make diffrens in the car .. bucaus i asked a ford guy and he saide that it will make the car beeter ..??....do any have any exp. in that thing??????????
saurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-27-2004, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
silvapain's Avatar
 
Member Number: 1808
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kankakee, IL
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2007 Mazdaspeed 3
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10,022
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 42
silvapain is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to silvapain
Default

if you want updated software, go to the dealership and have them update your ECU. they will flash the new software, and put a sticker on your ECU to let future techs know that it has been done. Since the data inputs from the various sensors can change from year to year, just switching out a computer with a different one is not very advisable.
__________________
- Daniel

Current:
2002 Pontiac GTP 40th Anniversary Edition
2007 Mazdaspeed3

Past:
1997 V8 SHO Silver Frost - ELISJOY
1997 V8 SHO Ebony Satin - RIPElaineRIP
1997 Vulcan GL - RIPSuzanneRIP
1990 Vulcan Sable - NONAME
silvapain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 2003
Join Date: Dec 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 28
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
saurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by silvapain@Feb 27 2004, 08:21 PM
if you want updated software, go to the dealership and have them update your ECU. they will flash the new software, and put a sticker on your ECU to let future techs know that it has been done. Since the data inputs from the various sensors can change from year to year, just switching out a computer with a different one is not very advisable.
thanks for ur concern man ...the thing is that the dealership don't have that cabability to do like what u saided..... ... ya ya ya go go...
saurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 1270
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NC
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,552
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
sundarpn has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

guess they wont do that at our will...
sundarpn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2004, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
americanmotorsport.com's Avatar
 
Member Number: 2235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 437
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
americanmotorsport.com has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

You can't just change computers unless the hardware is the same. In some years, they changed stuff around, like clock speeds and teh way the EEC coes teh MAF function, etc. 2001 was a big year. in 2002 they made a whole bunch of other changes.

Flashing to an updated file won't really do much unless you had one of those that had issues from the factory that dealers were told to reflash. If you want to make it perform better, get a chip or have me reflash it.

Now in some cases the hardware does not matter. For example, for the 3.0L 2v Taurus, the 96 and 97 EEC's have different hardware and soem of the tables are different, but are nonetheless interchangeable.

The ONLY benefit would be when you go say from an 03 3.8L V6 Mustang computer to an 04 with the same hardware but the 04 having a 27mhz clock speed instead of 24mhz. This would allow for faster fuel and spark calculations, etc. Of course it would depend on the model of the car and some changes may need to be made on my end to make it work.
__________________
Alberto @ American MotorSport
americanmotorsport.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 2003
Join Date: Dec 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 28
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
saurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

thanks
saurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 10:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 2003
Join Date: Dec 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 28
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
saurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by americanmotorsport.com@Feb 29 2004, 05:29 PM
You can't just change computers unless the hardware is the same. In some years, they changed stuff around, like clock speeds and teh way the EEC coes teh MAF function, etc. 2001 was a big year. in 2002 they made a whole bunch of other changes.

Flashing to an updated file won't really do much unless you had one of those that had issues from the factory that dealers were told to reflash. If you want to make it perform better, get a chip or have me reflash it.

Now in some cases the hardware does not matter. For example, for the 3.0L 2v Taurus, the 96 and 97 EEC's have different hardware and soem of the tables are different, but are nonetheless interchangeable.

The ONLY benefit would be when you go say from an 03 3.8L V6 Mustang computer to an 04 with the same hardware but the 04 having a 27mhz clock speed instead of 24mhz. This would allow for faster fuel and spark calculations, etc. Of course it would depend on the model of the car and some changes may need to be made on my end to make it work.
so how can i get to u when i am far awy....i am from saudi arabia..... help
saurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2004, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
americanmotorsport.com's Avatar
 
Member Number: 2235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 437
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
americanmotorsport.com has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

What is your EEC code?
__________________
Alberto @ American MotorSport
americanmotorsport.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 07:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 2003
Join Date: Dec 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 28
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
saurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

What is your EEC code? ....can u tell me how to do that ....dy the way i always come to hte site at this time.. so be patient with me ...and u where a very helpfol person... :keepsmiling:
saurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
silvapain's Avatar
 
Member Number: 1808
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kankakee, IL
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2007 Mazdaspeed 3
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10,022
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 42
silvapain is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to silvapain
Default

find your ECU. It is in the engine compartment, in the firewall. stand on the passenger's side, next to your front tire. look for a metal braided wire the goes from your engine to the firewall. next to where that wire connects to the firewall, there is a black socket thing with a massive amount of wires coming out one side. there should be a bolt that goes through the socket, and one on either side of the socket. take out the two side bolts, and slide the ECU out. The code is a series of three letters and one number ( at least, that's what it was on my car) on the top of the ECU.
__________________
- Daniel

Current:
2002 Pontiac GTP 40th Anniversary Edition
2007 Mazdaspeed3

Past:
1997 V8 SHO Silver Frost - ELISJOY
1997 V8 SHO Ebony Satin - RIPElaineRIP
1997 Vulcan GL - RIPSuzanneRIP
1990 Vulcan Sable - NONAME
silvapain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2