Rpms are going crazy?!?!? - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 46910
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2003 Taurus SES
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 37
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dogcmp6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Rpms are going crazy?!?!?

The past few months my RPMS have been going crazy, spiking between 200 and 1000 (and you can hear the revving when this happens to) when I am coasting, braking, or driving at a low speed, since I have a hard time explaining things, here is a video of it 2003 taurus rpm issue - YouTube any ideas what could be causing this?
dogcmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2013, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,478
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Are the engine RPMs actually changing with the tachometer? I can't really hear the engine in your video (microphone covered?).

If the engine sounds like it's running steady then I would suspect a crankshaft sensor.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 46910
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2003 Taurus SES
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 37
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dogcmp6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by behlinla View Post
Are the engine RPMs actually changing with the tachometer? I can't really hear the engine in your video (microphone covered?).

If the engine sounds like it's running steady then I would suspect a crankshaft sensor.
Oops, I meant to add that I can hear the engine reving with the tach
dogcmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,478
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Okay, then it's probably an IAC problem. Take it off (two bolts, save the gasket) and see if it looks real dirty.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 46910
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2003 Taurus SES
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 37
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dogcmp6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Pulled off my old IAC, there was no gasket, and the inside was dirty as all hell, bought a new one, popped it on with the gasket in 5 minutes, drove around for an hour, and no more problems!!!!! im so happy
dogcmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,478
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Congrats, glad it's fixed.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 46910
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2003 Taurus SES
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 37
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dogcmp6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, my rpms are no longer erratic while I am coasting, but now when I am at a stop, the rpms keep moving between 6 and 900
dogcmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,478
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You should check for vacuum leaks.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 46910
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2003 Taurus SES
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 37
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dogcmp6 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

There was not a gasket when I removed the old IAC, and I installed the new one with a diamond shaped gasket that was in the box, would this have anything to do with it?
dogcmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,478
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you used the ∞ shaped gasket and your throttle body don't have a groove for it to fit in it's going to leak. If you have a flat surface, then you need a flat gasket like this:

behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2