Transmission temperature - Page 2 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 07:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Member Number: 35029
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 1996 Sable LS, 3.0L V6 24V Duratec, AX4N
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,816
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
SoNic67 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I am using an ELM327 from eBay (actually I have two of them and two of my friends have each one too). I had an original PLX Kiwi bluetooth for $100 but it was doing the same so I sold it for $50 - my loss.
Software is Torque on my Android device.
Settings are set in US units (degree F for temp).
And yes, I don't know why the transmission temperature rises so slow. Probably because there is no thermostat to regulate the flow trough cooler?

Last edited by SoNic67; 11-10-2012 at 07:21 PM.
SoNic67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 08:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Cake monster

 
Member Number: 18214
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: none right now
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,581
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
JW657 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoNic67 View Post
I am using an ELM327 from eBay (actually I have two of them and two of my friends have each one too). I had an original PLX Kiwi bluetooth for $100 but it was doing the same so I sold it for $50 - my loss.
Software is Torque on my Android device.
Settings are set in US units (degree F for temp).
And yes, I don't know why the transmission temperature rises so slow. Probably because there is no thermostat to regulate the flow trough cooler?
I would take it for a drive and get it up to operating temperature, then park the car, leave it idling, go out and try grabbing the aux cooler pipe (metal pipe, not rubber) and feel how hot it is.
__________________
I love cake. I AM THE CAKE BOSS!

JW657 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,093
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Haha, I have one of those too, but I got rid of my android phone so I don't have torque anymore. Maybe I'll get a nexus 7 or something and use torque. I use dashcommand on my ipad now and it works great, but has almost every PID except for trans temp. Torque may be reporting an incorrect temp. What is the PID labeled as?

I did just get a 2011 copy of ALLDATA for windows for everything repair and maintenance and diagnosis ever... thanks cake boss.
__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec

Last edited by Sam; 11-10-2012 at 09:35 PM.
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Member Number: 35029
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 1996 Sable LS, 3.0L V6 24V Duratec, AX4N
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,816
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
SoNic67 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Torque doesn't show PID's. You can load the extra set of PID's (Ford, GM, Toyota) at vehicle setup. Then you can just select "Transmission Temperature" on Fords (Sable, Explorer). GM vehicles have to use alternate methods (don't have sensors).
Maybe here you can find more PID's? Looks like is 1674?
I thought that maybe is not right, but when it was warmer outside, idling in stop and go traffic, I saw transmission temperatures in 190F range.

Last edited by SoNic67; 11-11-2012 at 09:14 AM.
SoNic67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,093
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Hmm, well maybe it is. Only one real way to tell, but that isn't easy for trans. Did you see if the TC was actually locking though?
__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Member Number: 35029
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 1996 Sable LS, 3.0L V6 24V Duratec, AX4N
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,816
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
SoNic67 has a spectacular aura about
Default

It is locking, I am not sure what's the cut-off temperature for lock-up.
SoNic67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 02:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,093
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I'll look around for a chart on it in my alldata... 1996 sable ax4n tc lockup chart. See if I can find anything like it haha. May say what the ambient/iat/ect/trans temp have to be at for tc lockup. All computerized crazy stuff haha.
__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,093
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Only thing I could find on the trans temp sensor. I'm sure it's a complicated computer calculation that was programmed in the PCM/trans computer.

__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
SoNic67's Avatar
 
Member Number: 35029
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 1996 Sable LS, 3.0L V6 24V Duratec, AX4N
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,816
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
SoNic67 has a spectacular aura about
Default

It doesn't even say anything about TC...
SoNic67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,093
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I know, I know, but it lets you know what that temp sensor is used for besides TC! Haha, I'll keep looking if I get the chance. I have my factory 2000 sable manual, maybe something in there, but no search feature... I'll look through diagrams because I'm interested as well.

Unfortunately I doubt it is a chart because there are probably several factors that go into the decision for lockup the PCM/trans comp makes. If I could just find something about TC lockup vs. trans temp that would help.
__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2