damn p0340 code- cam posistion sensor - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2011, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 6330
Join Date: Nov 2005
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 31
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
holts92taurus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default damn p0340 code- cam posistion sensor

had codes checked for CEL being on and got a p0401 for egr and bought parts to fix that and also got a p0340 for cam position sensor which i was hoping wasnt because i have read the threads on here about them. now what i was asking about was when buying/replacing the cam pos. parts should i just replace the sensor on top or the whole synchro assembly. and yes i do know not to get a dorman one. plus who makes the best ones?
holts92taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2011, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 26241
Join Date: Feb 2010
Drives: 03 SES FFV
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 405
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 10
nytaurusabuser is on a distinguished road
Default

Shocked that this post hasn't received a reply in 11 hours, a post like this usually draws replies like flies on horse manure.

You COULD replace the position sensor pretty cheap - couple dollars, unplug the wire, 2 5.5mm bolts. When you pop the old one off, check the top of the syncro, it it looks sound, you might get away with just the CPS.

If you see damage, then obviously, you need to do the syncro too. Even if it's not damaged and you want to play it safe, change out the syncro. If it hasn't been done, you may just want to do it for the peace of mind.

Motorcraft seems to be the best choice for replacement of the assembly - you can grab one for $97 at RockAuto - and look for the 5% discount in this link (Rock Auto Discount)

Last edited by nytaurusabuser; 02-13-2011 at 11:45 PM.
nytaurusabuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 09:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
'MT5 Plus' Wagon Builder
 
major's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10385
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 87twagon. 99twagon. 99sable. 00twagon. 01taurus. 04taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,091
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
major will become famous soon enough
Default

I had P0340 pop up on the white '99 a couple of weeks ago and this is what I found:


Replaced the cam drive and the sensor the same day I found it, cleared the code and been good since.
__________________
major is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 19713
Join Date: May 2009
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 115
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 11
napoleon1981 will become famous soon enough
Default

Where was the rest?!
napoleon1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 07:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
'MT5 Plus' Wagon Builder
 
major's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10385
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 87twagon. 99twagon. 99sable. 00twagon. 01taurus. 04taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,091
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
major will become famous soon enough
Default

I replaced the motor and sensor in 2008. So it took a few years to get this bad. If the check engine light didn't light up, that motor would be toast now.
__________________
major is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 19713
Join Date: May 2009
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 115
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 11
napoleon1981 will become famous soon enough
Default

Well what I ment was that it looks like the cam gear chipped off some metal of the cam sensor gear. How did you take care of that? I would be worried about metal shavings throughout my entire block. Never was/became an issue I assume?
napoleon1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
'MT5 Plus' Wagon Builder
 
major's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10385
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 87twagon. 99twagon. 99sable. 00twagon. 01taurus. 04taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,091
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
major will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by napoleon1981 View Post
Never was/became an issue I assume?
Not yet. No abnormal oil consumption. Oil light comes on at start up for a second and goes out- like it should. Even with below freezing temps in the past few weeks.
__________________
major is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2