2003 v6 transmission removal - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2010, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 2003 v6 transmission removal

I'm new to this forum! Hope everyone is doing well.

I have an 03 V6 Auto. I have the transaxle completely off the block, but i cant seem to lower it between the block and the sub-frame. I feel like this should be easier than it is. Are there any tricks you guys know? I know you guys are the experts on these cars, any help is GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks in Advanced
Ryan
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2010, 06:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
egiroux's Avatar
 
Member Number: 26577
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,235
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
egiroux is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You have to remove the subframe.
egiroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

will droppping the back of the subframe (just the two back bolts) give me enough room to get the transaxle out?
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member


 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Member Number: 113
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,593
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 40
rudedog is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to rudedog Send a message via MSN to rudedog Send a message via Yahoo to rudedog
Default

no. drop the whole thing. you can secure the engine in place, unbolt the trans from it, then lower the sub-frame/trans as one unit.
__________________
Rudy Heinemann Jr.



May 2008 Car of The Month/Car of the Year 2008
'93 GL 3.0L, BOOTY'S BLUE BUCKET O' BOLTS
February Car of the Month T.S.O.C.
March Car of The Month T.C.C.A.
2003 SES 3.0L, GHOST

'93 SHO 3.2L, SNIPER SHO
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudedog View Post
no. drop the whole thing. you can secure the engine in place, unbolt the trans from it, then lower the sub-frame/trans as one unit.
Thanks for the response rudedog, are there any tricks to how to secure the engine from the top without having an engine hoist? Ive got the subframe lowered about 4 inches right now, but the engine has a jack under it, i need a way to hold it from the top.
And is it just the 4 bolts on the corners of the subframe? Already removed the tranny bracket/bushing.
First time doing anything to the taurus, obviously lol
Thanks in advanced
Ryan
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
egiroux's Avatar
 
Member Number: 26577
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,235
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 12
egiroux is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Here's the support bar I used. It's from Harbor Freight. If you look in the link you can see one made of wood.
1994 Gl Vulcan Axod Removal And Installation.... - Taurus Car Club of America
Attached Thumbnails
2003 v6 transmission removal-support.jpg   2003 v6 transmission removal-flexplate.jpg  
egiroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

pretend i never asked that, why dont i look before i ask...;
Sorry for being stubborn.

Tranny is out.

Heres a question i need to know, im sure you guys know... How can i tell if the Torque converter is bad. It shouldnt have a clunk to it like somethings loos inside when you shake it should it?

Thanks for ALL the help.
Ryan
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The reason i took it out was because no matter what i put the shifter in (R, N, D, 2, 1...) It was acting like it was in neutral.
I was thinking torque converter...
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 31613
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 03 taurus v6 stock
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 27
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
03taurus13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Last question, i broke 2 things getting the tranny out. So im going to have to order them.
Only thing is.. Is that I dont know what to tell the parts guy.

Pic 1, I know its an engine mount, but what would it be in his computer as?


Pic 2, Its a white harness coming out of the top of the trans. No clue what it does. Just know i broke it
03taurus13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
360alaska's Avatar
 
Member Number: 16180
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pensacola, FL
Chapter: Pacific Northwest
Drives: 1997 TR SHO
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 401
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
360alaska has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via MSN to 360alaska
Default

Holy **** dude... Why didnt you disconnect that? your going to have to rebuild it... heres one from rockauto http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/rafr...parttype=15871

Last edited by 360alaska; 09-29-2010 at 03:52 PM.
360alaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2