P0340 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2005, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 4925
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Bend, Wa
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Suran has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to Suran Send a message via MSN to Suran Send a message via Yahoo to Suran
Default

So, my CEL is on. Code reader throws a single code: P0340 (camshaft position sensor malfunction).

Sensor ordered off autozone, and replaced this evening (withOUT removing throttle body or upper intake manifold). The old sensor was burnt to hell, and I blew the debris out of the hold the sensor drops into with my compressor. Dropped the new sensor in, hooked up the wiring harness, and tightened the bolts down.

After replacing the sensor, I erased my computer with my code reader and started my car twice.

Trouble code came back.

I'm confused.
Suran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2005, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 4536
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,321
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
holedigger has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to holedigger
Default

As I recall, there is a precise alignment procedure that must be followed, requiring a special tool. There was a thread here about that not long ago.
__________________
It seems hot in the valley of Taurus...
holedigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 11:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 4925
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Bend, Wa
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Suran has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to Suran Send a message via MSN to Suran Send a message via Yahoo to Suran
Default

I believe the alignment is only nessesary when replacing the entire assembly - as I said, I replaced only the sensor.

I could be wrong though.
Suran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Member Number: 4431
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: N'awlins Louisiana
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,711
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Robert L has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via MSN to Robert L
Default

Take the sensor back off and look carefully down inside the synchro it sits on, you should see a C shaped vane that stands up half way around, is it there?
Robert L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 1298
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Western Suburbs of Chicago
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 94
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
jinhopark has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I bought the cam position sensor tool...didn't need it though.

The magnet broke off on my cam position sensor and damaged the C or 1/2 moon thing. I bent it back into it's original C-shape and put a new sensor back on and it's not been 2 years and has been working like a champ.

If the C-chaped vane was damaged/deformed and you put a new sensor in, there is a good chance you damaged the new one too...which would be my guess.
jinhopark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 4925
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Bend, Wa
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Suran has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to Suran Send a message via MSN to Suran Send a message via Yahoo to Suran
Default

Alrighty... updates:

So, I went back in and looked. Almost smacked myself when I pulled the sensor off, because the C-shaped vane was completely gone, and I didnt even think about it when I replaced the sensor and blew the debris out - part of which was the vane.

So, I got the entire camshaft position sensor drive assembly. What I'm confused about now is timing it. I've been told to mark the position of the old drive and simply slide the new one in so that it matches up - but what about the C-shaped vane? Since it's completely gone on the old one, how can I tell where it is when the engine is TDC?
Suran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Member Number: 125
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14,119
Trader Score: 4 reviews
Rep Power: 52
shoz123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Take the #1 spark plug out and insert a wooden dowl long enough to stick out 6" or so. Then turn the motor over and watch it as it rises and falls.
__________________
Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 01:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 4925
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Bend, Wa
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Suran has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to Suran Send a message via MSN to Suran Send a message via Yahoo to Suran
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHOZ123@Jul 23 2005, 12:50 PM
Take the #1 spark plug out and insert a wooden dowl long enough to stick out 6" or so. Then turn the motor over and watch it as it rises and falls.
Er... what? That doesnt make any sense to me...
Suran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 01:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Member Number: 125
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14,119
Trader Score: 4 reviews
Rep Power: 52
shoz123 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The dowel will rest on the piston head. As the piston goes up and down so will the dowel. When the dowel is at ti's highest point the piston is at TDC. You may be 180 degrees out of time though. And you are turning the motor over by hand of course.
__________________
Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 01:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 4925
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Bend, Wa
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Suran has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to Suran Send a message via MSN to Suran Send a message via Yahoo to Suran
Default

I think you misunderstood what I'm asking, though. Although, I'm enough of newb that you might well know exactly what I'm saying and I'm just making it difficult.

I'm trying to time the sensor-interruptor vane.. The engine is already at the correct position, I'm just not sure which position the C-shaped vane should be in, since the vane on the original sensor assembly is completely gone.
Suran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2