Fuel tank and fuel pump R&R - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member Number: 20381
Drives: 96 Mercury Sable LS Wagon 3.0 DOHC Duratec
Visit: My Garage
Trader Score: 0 reviews
nbpt100 has a spectacular aura about
Default Fuel tank and fuel pump R&R

I am sizing up the job to replace my fuel tank and fuel pump. I have never done this before but have read many of the post. I am fairly comfortable with what is ahead of me but I have a few questions that came up as I look over the new parts.

I just got my new fuel tank and it doesnot have the rubber pads the OEM tank has and the rubber gromet for the emmission hose is not present. Hole on far left in picture.

My questions about the tank are:

1. Are the rubber pads unnessesary? Do they add any value?
2. If yes, Is it worth trying to remove the pads off of the OEM and glue them on the new tank?
3. Can I easily remove, without damaging and reuse said grommet? What have others done?

My new fuel pump assembley does not come with the sending unit. I am not sure how the sending unit is assembled to the pump assy. I am sure this will be obvious when I remove the OEM pump assy from the tank. But I like to know what to expect upfront. I see an unused wire on the new assembly. I assume it goes to the sending unit. I also see a ground terminal on the inside top of the steel cover. I assume the sending unit is grounded there to complete the circuit.