Car runs rough when the engine is cold - Page 3 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 03:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 48633
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000 Taurus SE V6 3.0 Liter 12Valve OHV Vulcan engine
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 513
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 6
q0987 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff K View Post
Some answers:

1> Is it true that both upstream sensors are same?
Because I can ONLY find one upstream O2 sensor from rockauto as follows:
More Information for MOTORCRAFT dy1039

Electrically they are the same, as are all narrow band O2 sensors are. In your case, I am thinking its the length of the wires coming out of the sensors that are different front to rear.

Many O2 sensors come with a dab of high temp antisieze on the threads. If your doesnt, use antisieze sparingly. DO NOT get any on or near the sensing tip of the O2 or you will be buying another new one.
Just chat with fordparts.com staff and he gave me the part number DY-1089, a blue one. I think he is wrong but who knows.
2000 Ford Taurus Oxygen Sensor | FordParts.com

Also he told me the both front and rear upstream sensors wires are of the same length.

From rockauto, the part number is dy1039, a green one.
More Information for MOTORCRAFT dy1039
q0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2013, 05:43 PM   #22 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,507
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 80
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yeah, blue is the downstream sensor. It will still work if the wires are long enough.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:33 PM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 48633
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000 Taurus SE V6 3.0 Liter 12Valve OHV Vulcan engine
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 513
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 6
q0987 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by behlinla View Post
Yeah, blue is the downstream sensor. It will still work if the wires are long enough.
So basically, the guy from fordparts.com gave me the wrong information. But how Ford catalog can go wrong?

I have uploaded a video
Taurus 2000 SE O2 Sensor Location? - YouTube

As you can see @00:10 => blue connector
@00:23 => blue/green connector.

Still cannot find the other green upstream connector.

upstream sensor provided by fordparts:
2000 Ford Taurus Oxygen Sensor | FordParts.com

upstream sensor provided by rockauto:
More Information for MOTORCRAFT dy1039

Last edited by q0987; 01-24-2013 at 06:40 PM.
q0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 12,623
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 53
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Look down between the intake and firewall for the green elec. conn. and follow the wire.
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,507
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 80
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You found both of the bank 2 sensors. The bank 1 senors are on the other side of the engine between the engine and the firewall. This will give you an idea where to look:

behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:11 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 48633
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000 Taurus SE V6 3.0 Liter 12Valve OHV Vulcan engine
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 513
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 6
q0987 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I will check it later. It seems very difficult to reach and replace that sensor.
q0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:57 AM   #27 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 12,623
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 53
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

^ It is, lol!
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 48633
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000 Taurus SE V6 3.0 Liter 12Valve OHV Vulcan engine
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 513
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 6
q0987 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hello all,

Found one more issue today about my car.

I opened the oil cap and see it is very clean and no oil there. I assume this is normal.

Here is the bad part I found:
When I pull the oil stick and clean it and then pull back again, I found that the oil exceeds the MAX.

Assume the normal range is from
MIN <======>MAX
What I saw is
MIN <======>MAX===>

Is this a serious issue? I will get it fix on Monday morning since the shop doesn't open tomorrow.

Thank you

Last edited by q0987; 01-25-2013 at 09:59 PM.
q0987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:34 AM   #29 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 12,623
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 53
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Get your drain pan and loosen the plug a bit until the oil begins seeping out. Recheck level.
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:41 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 10955
Join Date: Jan 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
accuratemech has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Had a similar problem on 01 Vulcan. Crappy start and then OK after about 5 minutes. Had several misfire codes. Replaced all tune up parts and still had codes. Did cylinder compression test on 4, 5, and 6. Showed 90, 90, and 120. Pulled the front head and found cracks on 4 and 5. Put a used head on it and now OK. Seams like the cracks would close up when engine warmed up. Also when I tried to open the coolant tank cap coolant would overflow badly like it had pressure from exhuast. FWIW.
accuratemech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2