Starting issues, help please! - Page 3 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 12:18 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 52286
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 18
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
mavsfan0434 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by behlinla View Post
Yeah, you're going to have to replace that positive cable. The wires are corroded.
Do you think those terminals will work ok once I get a new battery cable? Also, the ground cables look pretty good? I think I'll just replace the positive. Any suggestion on guage, brand, and length? So many options
mavsfan0434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2013, 12:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,416
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Those terminals are really only designed to hold one cable at a time, so I would recommend against using them. There are better aftermarket terminals that are designed to hold multiple cables. I would use 6 gauge wire or larger (you might need 4 ga for the starter cable).

Read this: The Big 3 Walkthrough
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 25751
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: (2) 2001 Taurus and 2006 Taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,000
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
Automender12345 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Put a voltmeter across the negative terminal and the actual positive wire and have someone crank the engine. Look at the voltage while cranking. It shouldn't to much lower than ten volts.

My 2006 had a weak battery but it would easily crank the engine over, but the crank time to start was long. Turned out to be the battery not supplying enough voltage to the fuel pump. I almost replaced the fuel pump.

Last edited by Automender12345; 01-17-2013 at 07:51 PM.
Automender12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:12 AM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 52286
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2000
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 18
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
mavsfan0434 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Automender12345 View Post
Put a voltmeter across the negative terminal and the actual positive wire and have someone crank the engine. Look at the voltage while cranking. It shouldn't to much lower than ten volts.

My 2006 had a weak battery but it would easily crank the engine over, but the crank time to start was long. Turned out to be the battery not supplying enough voltage to the fuel pump. I almost replaced the fuel pump.
So what was your fix? The battery or the positive cable? I just have serious doubts about it being just the battery due to having one that "tested" good, but was under warranty, so I switched it out for a brand new one and the same problem happened again.
mavsfan0434 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 25751
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: (2) 2001 Taurus and 2006 Taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,000
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 18
Automender12345 is a jewel in the rough
Default

The fix was to replace the battery. Check the voltage while cranking and that should tell the story. I would put some dielectric grease on the connection once you get it fixed up. I don,t like the way the connection looks.
Automender12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2